Troost-Ekong out, Moses makes 11-man Caf African Player of the Year list

ShareClose Comments
The list has been whittled down and the Super Eagles defender has not made it while his teammate is still in the running for the individual accolade

Nigeria defender William Troost-Ekong has been dropped from the new 11-man shortlist for the 2017 African Player of the Year as compatriot Victor Moses is still in the race to clinch the award.

Bursaspor’s Troost-Ekong and Chelsea wing-back Moses were part of the 30-man nominees announced last month but the defender has been phased out after votes from the necessary quarters to pick the best 11 players.

Liverpool duo Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane alongside Gabon and Borussia Dortmund striker Pierre Emerick-Aubameyang are also in the running for the prestigious individual award.

Al Ahly and former Nigeria youth international Junior Ajayi made the cut for 10-man shortlist for the African Best Player based in Africa.

“Eleven [11] players made the cut for the Player of the Year and Ten [10] for the Player of the Year [Based in Africa] after votes from members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and Independent Media and TV Consultants, from the initial 30-man list,” read a statement on Caf website .

“The second and final phase will involve Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations taking part in the voting exercise and ten members from the Independent Media and TV Consultants group.

Article continues below

“For the first time, captains of the senior men’s national teams of the affiliated National Associations will also take part in decision-making process of the African Player of the Year and Player of the Year (Based in Africa).”

African Player of the Year [alphabetical order]

1.     Bertrand Traore [Burkina Faso & Olympique Lyon]               
2.     Denis Onyango [Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns]                  
3.     Karim El Ahmadi [Morocco & Feyenoord]       
4.     Keita Balde [Senegal & Monaco]                   
5.     Mohamed Salah [Egypt & Liverpool]
6.     Naby Keita [Guinea & RB Leipzig]   
7.     Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang [Gabon & B. Dortmund]
8.     Sadio Mane [Senegal & Liverpool]      
9.     Victor Moses [Nigeria & Chelsea]       
10.  Vincent Aboubakar [Cameroon & Porto]          
11.  Yacine Brahimi [Algeria & Porto]

Player of the Year [Based in Africa]

1.     Achraf Bencharki [Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club]   
2.     Ahmed Fathi [Egypt & Al Ahly]
3.     Ali Maaloul [Tunisia & Al Ahly]         
4.     Aristide Bance [Burkina Faso & El Masry]
5.     Ben Malango [DR Congo & TP Mazembe]      
6.     Denis Onyango [Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns]
7.     Jeremy Brockie [New Zealand & Supersport]  
8.     Junior Ajayi [Nigeria & Al Ahly]
9.       Mohamed Ounnajem [Morooco & Wydad Athletic Club]
10.  Taha Yassine Khenisssi [Tunisia & Esperance]

Next article:
Mina planning Barcelona stay in blow to Everton
Next article:
Ajax's assertion on refusing to sell its stars a welcomed breath of fresh air
Next article:
Champions League 2018-19: Favourites, outsiders, underdogs, qualified teams & fixtures
Next article:
Golovin sees Chelsea switch 'confirmed' by CSKA team-mate
Next article:
Completed Premier League 2018-19 transfers - arrivals, departures & contracts expiring for all 20 clubs

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept