Singapore announce final 22-man squad for AFF Suzuki Cup

Regulars like Aleksandar Duric, Shahril Ishak and Baihakki Khaizan have been included, while goalkeeper Joey Sim and winger Hafiz Rahim are the more surprising faces.
The Football Association of Singapore [FAS] has released the final 22-man squad for the upcoming AFF Suzuki Cup, which contains the likes of veteran striker Aleksandar Duric and captain Shahril Ishak.

Twelve players who wore LionsXII colors last season have been included, with the rest of the players coming from S.League clubs Tampines Rovers, Home United, Balestier Khalsa, Gombak United, Courts Young Lions and SAFFC.

Thirteen players have failed to make the cut from the initial 35-man preliminary squad, such as defenders Ismail Yunos and Jufri Taha, midfielder Firdaus Idros and LionsXII striker Agu Casmir. Full-back Juma'at Jantan has been ruled out with injury, while goalkeeper Hassan Sunny has been excluded as well in favor of Joey Sim, who came on against Pakistan in the last five minutes on Monday for his debut.

Lions coach Radjoko Avramovic said, “We have several young players who will be playing in the Suzuki Cup for the first time but I believe they have matured over the past few months. I look forward to the senior players playing a key role in guiding the younger ones during the competition. I am confident that the players will give their all for the Suzuki Cup. We had a very good training tour and our performance in our last two friendly matches has been encouraging with the team coming together nicely.”

Singapore kick off their campaign on Sunday, November 25 against Malaysia and the team will depart for Kuala Lumpur on Thursday, November 22 via SQ 5316, which is scheduled for departure at 10.15am at Changi Airport Terminal 2.

Singapore squad

Goalkeepers: Izwan Mahbud, Hyrulnizam Juma'at, Joey Sim.

Defenders: Baihakki Khaizan, Daniel Bennett, Shaiful Esah, Irwan Shah, Safuwan Baharudin.

Midfielders: Hariss Harun, Hafiz Rahim, Firdaus Kasman, Isa Halim, Shahril Ishak, Fazli Ayob, Zulfahmi Arifin, Mustafic Fahrudin, Shahdan Sulaiman, Shi Jiayi.

Forwards: Qiu Li, Fazrul Nawaz, Aleksandar Duric, Khairul Amri.