Familiar faces in Harimau Malaya call-up

Datuk K. Rajagopal has called up a string of 27 players for the Malaysian national team, featuring regular names like Safiq Rahim, Norshahrul Idlan Talaha and Amri Yahyah

The Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) have announced the revised Harimau Malaya squad for the upcoming friendly games against Chelsea and FC Barcelona before their eventual 2015 Asian Cup Qualifiers.

Most of the 27 players called up by Datuk K. Rajagopal are familiar names like the Johor Darul Takzim quartet of Norshahrul Idlan Talaha, Safee Sali, Safiq Rahim and Aidil Zafuan.

Selangor stalwarts like Mahali Jasuli, Amri Yahyah and Asraruddin Putra have also received the regular recall to represent the country.

New faces include Negeri Sembilan’s Nazrin Nawi, who has had a great season despite his team’s relagation, and Zubir Azmi from Terengganu.

PKNS FC’s Nazmi Faiz, or wonderkid as he is more popularly known as, has also been selected by Rajagopal following a recent spat of sorts between the two regarding the youngster having to prove his worth.

The match with Chelsea will be played at the Shah Alam Stadium on July 21 and the much-anticipated clash with Barcelona is scheduled for August 10 at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil.

The players will be required to report to Rajagapol on the July 11 at Wisma FAM for the first training session.

From July 23 to August 3 Harimau Malaya will make a trip to Tokyo, Japan for training and a series of friendlies - opponents have not been confirmed as yet.


1. Farizal Marlias (Perak)
2. Amri Yahyah (Selangor)
3. Mahalli Jasuli (Selangor)
4. Norazlan Razali (Selangor)
5. Asraruddin Putra (Selangor)
6. K. Gurusamy (Selangor)
7. S. Kunalan (Selangor)
8. Aidil Zafuan (Darul Takzim)
9. Norshahrul Idlan Talaha (Darul Takzim)
10. Safee Sali (Darul Takzim)
11. Safiq Rahim (Darul Takzim)
12. Azamuddin Akil (Pahang)
13. Khairul Fahmi (Kelantan)
14. Nik Shahrul (Kelantan)
15. Shakir Shaari (Kelantan)
16. Badhri Radzi (Kelantan)
17. Nor Farhan Muhammad (Kelantan)
18. Azizi Matt Rose (Kelantan)
19. Fakri Saarani (Kelantan)
20. Zubir Azmi (Terengganu)
21. Ashari Samsudin bin (Terengganu)
22. Nazrin Nawi (Negeri Sembilan)
23. Amiridzwan Taj (ATM)
24. K. Reuben (ATM)
25. Nizad Ayub (PKNS)
26. Nazmi Faiz (PKNS)
27. Fadhli Shas (Harimau Muda 'A')

The FAM have also prepared a list of 14 players who will be called to join the squad if any of the first 27 are forced out due to injuries.


1. Khyrill Muhymeen (Kedah)
2. Ramzul Zahini (Kedah)
3. Nasriq Baharom (Selangor)
4. Saiful Nizam (Pahang)
5. Mohammed Al-Hafiz (Darul Takzim)
6. Farid Ramli (Darul Takzim)
7. Faiz Subri (Kelantan)
8. Faizal Mohammed (Terengganu)
9. Bobby Gonzales (Sarawak)
10. Putera Nadher (Sarawak)
11. Sani Anuar (Sarawak)
12. Affize Mamat (ATM)
13. Christie Jayaseelan (ATM)