thumbnail Hello,

Pahang, Negeri Sembilan and Sabah are three new states that will be included in this year's 1Malaysia Cardiff City (1MCC) league

THE Liga 1MCC has drawn much interest nationwide that it has now been expanded to meet the growing demand from other states for the 2013 season. In October last year, the league expanded from the Klang Valley to include Malacca, Johor (South Zone) and Penang (North Zone).

Though Johor, Malacca and Penang will host their respective Under-12 and possibly Under-14 leagues, 1MCC is looking at further expanding so that teams in Pahang, Negeri Sembilan and Sabah can now enjoy the opportunity of playing in the same age-group leagues there. By mid- year, a total of six other states, apart from the Klang Valley, will be running the Liga 1MCC.

Dato’ Chan Tien Ghee, Chairman of 1Malaysia Cardiff City and Cardiff City Football Club, said the expansion to a total of seven states augurs well for the development of football in the country with more youth teams exposed to competitive football. This will also give us a wider base in the selection of skilled and talented players. This is in line with the 1MCC philosophy of ‘Football for All’ and the realisation of the Prime Minister’s vision that the game should be played at all levels.

The realisation of this vision was initiated at the official launch of the Liga 1MCC-Hong Leong Yamaha 2012 by Prime Minister Datuk Sri Najib Tun Abdul Razak in April last year.  The Prime Minister had lauded 1MCC’s efforts in improving football at grassroots level.

“Due to the overwhelming demand from other states, we have decided to expand our leagues to include the Under-12 teams from Pahang, Negeri Sembilan and Sabah,” Dato’ Chan said, after the Team Managers’ Meeting for the upcoming Liga 1MCC-Hong Leong Yamaha 2013. The meeting was held at the Bukit Kiara Equestrian & Country Club, Kuala Lumpur.  

This season will see the introduction of two divisions within each age group.  The promotion and relegation mechanism will take effect with the bottom two teams from Division One relegated to Division Two while the Champion and Runners-up in Division Two will gain promotion.  

Fireball Academy and Permai FC are the two new kids on the block in the 32-team Liga 1MCC-Hong Leong Yamaha 2013 for the Klang Valley which kicks off on February 16 at the Rubber Research Institution (RRI) grounds in Sungai Buloh.

Defending champions CIMB-YFA Bintang Muda, 2012 runner-up APS Bintang Biru (Bintang Biru Assumption FC), Jasmine Junior FC and Proficient Football Academy are drawn in Division One together with 12 other teams, making it a total of 16 teams. Division Two will have the same number of teams competing.

The top eight teams in each division qualify for their respective division’s quarter-finals, semi-finals and finals, with the two teams that finish at the bottom of Division Two replaced by new entries for the following season.

1MCC’s Competitions Director Gobi Nair said the response from teams have been so overwhelming that they had to put 16 teams on standby.

“Allocation of teams into Division One and Two was based on last year’s league table standings where the top 16 teams participate in Division One and the lower 16 teams in Division Two,” added Gobi.


Division 1

1. A.Soccerkids MBSA, 2.AB Tunas Lagenda, 3.Akademi Bolasepak MBPJ, 4.Bintang Biru Assumption FC, 5.CIMB-YFA Bintang Muda, 6.Jasmine Junior Football Club, 7.JR Kids Perak Soccer Academy, 8.Kelab Bolasepak Remaja Bersatu (KBRB), 9.Kelab Nuri, 10.MBJ United, 11.PKNS FC, 12.PNSB FC, 13.Proficient Football Academy, 14.Red Giant Kids, 15.Royal Selangor Club (RSC), 16.Kuala Lumpur Youth Soccer (KLYS).

Division 2

1.Eagle Premier Football Academy, 2.Astaka FC, 3.Fireball Academy, 4.GEN Pro, 5.Glenmarie United, 6.Kelab Bolasepak Ampang Jaya, 7.KB Anak Kalumpang, 8.Kelab Bolasepak Remaja Harimau Klang, 9.Lestari Junior FC, 10.Mahkota FA, 11.My Kids Soccer, 12.Ombak FC, 13.Permai FC, 14.PFKA Batu Caves, 15.Semenyih Putra United, 16. Ulu Kelang Recreation Club (UKRC).