Our path to Asian Cup 2015 to be discovered in draw

The draw for the Asian Cup 2015 qualifiers is set to take place in Melbourne today as Malaysia take their spot in the last pot with four other nations

Malaysia’s opponents in the Asian Cup 2015 qualifiers will be known today with the draw slated to take place in Melbourne this afternoon.

According to the official website of the Asian Football Conderation (AFC), twenty teams will be divided into five groups of four teams each. The top two teams from each group and the best third-placed team among all the groups will qualify for the tournament proper to be held in Australia.

Previous edition’s champions Japan, hosts Australia, third-placed Korea Republic, AFC Challenge Cup 2012 winners DPR Korea and the champions of the 2014 AFC Challenge Cup will get direct berths in the final competition.

Apart from Malaysia, the other 19 teams to be drawn are Uzbekistan, Qatar, Jordan, Iran, Iraq, China, Bahrain, Syria, UAE, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Thailand, Yemen, Vietnam, Singapore, Indonesia, Lebanon and Hong Kong.

Malaysia have been placed in pot 4 alongside rivals Indonesia and Singapore, as well as Lebanon and Hong Kong.

The draw will begin at 18:00hrs Melbourne time (3pm local time) at Melbourne’s Hotel Sofitel.

The competition’s official logo will also be launched at the event.