Four teams to fight it out in play-offs for one MSL place

Kedah, Sabah and Pahang will do battle with another yet to be determined team for a place in next year’s MSL

Only one Malaysian Super League (MSL) spot is available in the play-off matches scheduled to take place in Malacca next week, but four teams will be vying for it.

With the format change initiated by the Football Association of Malaysia (FAM), the MSL will only see 12 teams competing, instead of the normal 14, from next season onwards. This means the top nine Malaysian teams plus the one guest team, Lions XII have confirmed their places for next season. These 10 will be joined by Premier League champions ATM and the play-offs winner. The bottom team in the MSL, Kuala Lumpur, has already been relegated to the Premier League.

As it stands, three teams are already confirmed in the play-offs, they are Kedah, Sabah and the Premier League’s second placed team, Pahang. The identity of one more team will be known after the final round of fixtures tomorrow. Four sides: PKNS, Johor, Felda United and Sarawak are all in danger of entering the play-offs if results don’t go their way. The team which finishes eleventh out of this quartet will face Pahang with the winner proceeding to play for the one remaining MSL place against the winner of the Kedah-Sabah tie.

The play-offs will be held at the Hang Jebat Stadium in Malacca, from July 17-19.