Safiq, Aidil and Mahali to play for ASEAN All-Stars

The 22 players that will represent ASEAN All-stars to play against the Indonesia national team for a fundraising match has been revealed, with Datuk K.Rajagopal as the head coach

GOALBY    NIK AFIQ    Follow on Twitter

22 Asean players have been picked to play an Indonesian team for a fundraising match on the 11th of May, and former national coach, Datuk K.Rajagopal will lead the All star team.

The main aim of match is to raise fund for the victims of Haiyan Typhoon, and the squad will also consists of three Malaysian players, which are Johor Darul Ta’zim trio, Mahali Jasuli, Safiq Rahim and national team captain Aidil Zafuan.

Besides the Johor three, more big names in Asean football have also been picked, including Singaporean Shahril Ishak, Thailand’s goal machine and AFF 2012 Golden Boot winner Teerasil Dangda. In midfield, Datsakorn Thonglao from Thailand, Chhin Chouen (Cambodia), Naing Linoo (Myanmar) and Nguyen Van Quyet (Vietnam) have also being picked.

However, there are no representatives from Malaysia in the goalkeeping and forward department, as our number one goalkeeper Khairul Fahmi Che Mat and strikers such as Safee Sali, Norshahrul Idlan and Amri Yahyah all missed out from the team.

According to Goal Indonesia, Asean All-Stars coach Rajaopal said “We don’t have much time but we are professionals and I am confident that we are ready to fight later. This match is more than an exhibition and what’s more important is that from the kick-off, we need to give the fans entertainment.”

For Alfreid Riedi, he believes that this opportunity will be useful for his team to learn because they are up against the finest players in the region.

The match, which will be played in Gelora Bong Karno Stadium, Jakarta on May 11, also will be the reunion of the two coaches, who faced each other in the AFF 2010 final, were Malaysia won over two legs.

The full list of ASEAN All-Stars Squad:

Goalkeeper: Soukthavy Soundala (Laos), Hassan Bin Abdullah Sunny (Singapura).

Defenders: Azri Azhari (Brunei), Hong Pheng (Kamboja), Aidil Zafuan (Malaysia), Mahalli (Malaysia), Thein Than Win (Myanmar), Alexandre Borromeo (Filipina), Niweat Siriwong (Thailand), Adelino Trindade (Timor Leste), Truong Dinh Luat (Vietnam).

Midfielders: Chhin Chhoeun (Kamboja), Safiq Rahim (Malaysia), Naing Linoo (Myanmar), Mohammad Shahril (Singapura), Haris Harun (Singapura), Datsakorn Thonglao (Thailand), Nguyen Van Quyet (Vietnam).

Forwards: Vishay Phaphouvanin (Laos), Ian Bayona Arayeta (Filipina), Teerasil Dangda (Thailand), Lee Cong Vinh (Vietnam).