Guardiola, Mourinho and Del Bosque to battle it out for Coach of the Year

The current coaches of Real Madrid and Spain, as well as the former Barcelona boss are all in line for the award
Pep Guardiola, Jose Mourinho and Vicente del Bosque have been named as the final three nominees for the Fifa Coach of the Year award.

The former Barcelona boss left his post in charge of the Blaugrana at the end of last season, having sealed the Copa del Rey with a 3-0 win over Athletic Bilbao in the final.

Meanwhile, Mourinho enjoyed a fantastic year, guiding Real Madrid to the Liga title at the expense of the Catalans and setting a record points total in the process.

Finally, Del Bosque led Spain to the Euro 2012 title, their third consecutive major championship, a feat that had never been achieved by any international side before.

Mourinho scooped the inaugural award in 2010 thanks to his treble win with Inter, while Guardiola sealed it a year later after winning a Liga and Champions League double with Barca.

The winners of all of the awards will be revealed at the Fifa Ballon d’Or gala as part of a televised show at the Zurich Kongresshaus on 7 January 2013.