thumbnail Hello,

The diminutive striker a great night when he was also named as the top scorer in a season that he helped the bankers finish fourth premiership

Kenya Commercial Bank striker Jacob Kelli has been named Kenyan Premier League best Player of 2013 season.

The diminutive striker had a great night when he was also named as the top scorer in a season that he helped his club to finish in fourth position on the Kenyan Premier League log.

Keli beat Shaban Kenga of Bandari, who finished second and David ‘Calabar’ Owino of Gor Mahia, who was third. Keli, who received the award with his two year-old son Renny, was emotional in his acceptance speech.

"No words can explain what I am feeling now. Two years ago, I thought of leaving football as a career. I was so dejected because no one believed in me but now it is my moment. I worked hard for it and sacrificed a lot and this has paid off well. I want to thank my coach for believing in me and giving me this chance.”

Gor Mahia custodian Jerim Onyango was eventually named goalkeeper of the year after narrowly missing out last season. The Gor Mahia custodian finished second last season though most people felt he should have been rewarded then with the top prize.

The surprise winner was KCB midfielder Brian Osumba, who beat experienced players such as AFC Leopards' midfielder Peter Opiyo and Thika United's Francis Kahata, who finished third and second respectively.

Gor Mahia defender David Owino was named the best defender capping a great season finishing ahead of John Odhiambo of KCB and Felly Mulumba of Sofapaka. Jacob Keli was rewarded for scoring 17 goals and emerging the top scorer ahead of Allan Wanga (AFC Leopards) and Jesse Were (Tusker).

Player of the year: Jacob Kelli (KCB), Shaban Kenga (Bandari) and David Owino (Gor Mahia). Assistant referee of the Year: Aden Marwa, runners-up; Peter Kiereni and Dorcas Moraa. Fair Play team of the Year: Western Stima, Sofapaka and Muhoroni Youth. Referee of the Year: Davies Omweno, Anthony Ogwayo and Tabitha Wambui.

Fair Play Player of the Year: Dennis Onkangi, Shaban Kenga and Oliver Ruto. Team Manager of the Year: Josephat Okal (KCB), Dan Omondi (Karuturi), Tom Ochieng (Chemelil). New Young Player of the Year: Sammy Mejja (Thika United), Michael Olunga (Tusker), Stephen Wakanya (Chemelil).

Goalkeeper of the Year: Jerim Onyango (Gor Mahia), Sammy Okinda (KCB), Wilson Oburu and Wycliffe Kasaya (tied). Defender of the Year: David ‘Calabar’ Owino, John Odhiambo (KCB), Felly Mulumba (Sofapaka). Midfielder of the Year: Brian Osumba (KCB), Francis Kahata (Thika United), Peter ‘Pinches’ Opiyo (AFC Leopards).

Chairman Award: Dorris Petra (Kenya FA). Golden Boot Winner: Jacob Keli (KCB), Jesse Were (Tusker), Allan Wanga (AFC Leopards). Coach of the Year: Abdallah Juma (KCB), Twahir Muhiddin (Bandari) and David Ouma (Sofapaka).