AFC Leopards’ U-19 team cleared for KPL tournament

The second edition of the tournament is set to be staged between August 12 and 24 at City with team's having until Wednesday to confirm participation

AFC Leopards’ became the first team to be cleared for the Kenyan Premier League Youth tournament on Monday after meeting all criteria for the under-19 competition.

According to KPL official website, twenty players of the club, mainly drawn from schools, were registered after satisfying KPL's strict requirement on age. Eligible players must have been born on or after January 1994 and clubs have been warned against age cheating.

The deadline for the tournament is Wednesday while the draw will be held on Saturday. The second edition of the tournament is set to be staged between August 12 and 24 at Nairobi’s City Stadium.

Participation is mandatory for all KPL clubs. The 16 participating youth teams will be grouped in four pools of four teams for a preliminary contest. Group winners and runner-up will then proceed to the knock-out stage.

Thika United won the inaugural competition in 2011 after beating Sony Sugar in the final. AFC Leopards' defeated Ulinzi Stars to take the third place.

AFC Leopards under-19 squad: Hamisi Salim, Joseph Karanja, Teddy Osok (all Makongeni High School), Asif Osman (Highway Secondary), Eugene Rapemo, Tom Kangeta (all Laiser Hill Academy), Brian Otiato, Collins Ifedha (all Olympic High School), Amos Musembi (Mbotela Youth FC), Charles Maina (Young Pele’s Youth Club), Martin Werunga.

Other are; Timothy Luda, Ronald Ochieng (all Upper Hill), Carolly Odhiambo, Duncan Otieno (all Chavakali High School), Julius Obwamu (Butere Boys High School), Dennis Dodo, Boniface Maundu (all Mutuma Secondary School) and Charles Ochieng (Super Loaf FC).