thumbnail Hello,

The highlight match of the weekend was a Division One duel pitting Ligi Ndogo against Moyas which ended 3-0 in favor of the latter at City Stadium

Sixteen clubs have sailed through to the second round of the GOTV Shield Cup after first round matches played at various venues countrywide on Saturday and Sunday.

The highlight match was a Division One duel pitting Ligi Ndogo against Moyas which ended 3-0 in favor of the latter.

Billy Jackson opened the scores for Moyas with a superb shot that beat Ligi Ndogo’s goalkeeper Samuel Njau on the near post. Libesi Alex scored again in the 67th minute before Marvin Mwangi sealed the scores in the 89th min.

But it was Ligi Ndogo’s striker Mike Machiek who won the man of the match award. Machiek a South Sudanese national was outstanding for the losers taking home a decoder.

Ligi Ndogo’s coach Michael Kamure could not hide his disappointment after the thrashing. “We started brightly but lost focus in the second half,” he told Goal.

In other matches, Shabana beat Borabu Chiefs 1-0 with the only goal of the match coming from Timothy Otanga in the 46th minute.

Nzoia United sailed through to the second round without kicking a ball after their opponents Mt Kenya United failed to travel to the Sudi Stadium.

Visiting Black Mamba from Kitale beat home side Muhoroni Young 1-0 at Muhoroni Stadium courtesy of Collins Odhiambo's 58th minute goal.

Hotspring FC striker James Omondi was the two goal hero after his 9th and 63rd goals left the home team Kisero Hunters dazzed at their Oyugis ground.

At the City Stadium on Sunday, Kariobangi Sharks advanced to the second round after edging out GFC 2-0 with a double from Robinson Kamura in the 27th and 78th minutes.

Gatundu Stars were humbled 3-1 by Bidco United at the Thika Municipal Stadium. Mbuthia Antony scored in the 23rd min and 38th for Bidco with George Ndichu giving Gatundu a lifeline with a 35th minute goal before Ernest Wendo ensured Bidco’s win with an 85th minute goal.

Teams that have qualified to the 2nd round, whose draw will be conducted soon include St Josephs, West Kenya Sugar, Nakumatt, Agro Chemicals,  Ulinzi Warriors, Finlays, University of Nairobi, Talanta, Wazee Wa Kazi, Black Mamba, Bidco United, Nzoia Sugar, Moyas, Hotsprings, Kariobangi Sharks and Shabana.