thumbnail Hello,

According to the club's elections group, a total of 37 aspirants have been cleared to contest for seats during the polls set for July 29 at Kasarani

By Tim Musungu

AFC Leopards' elections management group has finally released the list of the candidates who will be vying for various seats in the club’s elections to be held on July 29 at Kasarani.

Among those cleared to vie are Nairobi County Women Representative Rachel Shebesh and former Nairobi Mayor George Aladwa, who unsuccessfully vied for the Makadara parliamentary seat.

A total of 37 aspirants have been cleared to contest for the seats according to the EMG chairman Simiyu Katiambo.

Three people will be battling it out for chairman’s seat. Incumbent Alex Ole Magelo will not defend his seat as he has been elected the speaker of the Nairobi County Assembly.

Current vice-chairman Walter Onyino will be taking a shot at the Chairman’s post and he will be up against Allan Kasavuli and Mathews Opwora.

The vice-chairman’s seat will see former treasurer Patrick Ngaira fighting it out with Andrew Mule and Ronald Namai.

Former Mayor George Aladwa will contest for the Secretary General’s position and he will be facing competition from James Sakwa, Oscar Igaida, current deputy secretary and city lawyer Bernard Murunga. Current secretary general Winston Kituyi will defend the seat.

Remy Mudi will defend the treasurer’s post and he will only have one opponent, PJ Wekesa. Esther Luvembe, Khamisi Maleya, Beatrice Kwamboka and Oscar Kwamboka will all be vying for the deputy slot.

Timothy Lilumbi will be defending his seat as the Organizing secretary and in his quest; he will have to fight off competition from former coach Gilbert Selebwa, Elijah Omung’ala and Noah Wanyama, father to Harambee Stars players Macdonald Mariga and Victor Wanyama.

Patrick Miheso, Caroline Muhati and Asava Kadima will seek the deputy’s seat.

The committee members’ seats have attracted the highest number of aspirants with Javan Mukoya, Jared Ombangi, Loice Barasa, Carolyne Mayunzu, Mildred Malabi, Douglas Simiyu, James Habwe, Samuel Limisi, Evans Shamala Stephen Mungo and Fredrick Lutta all seeking a position.

The trustee’s seat will see no competition as only three have shown interest for the three available slots.

The list is led by Nairobi County Women’s representative Rachel Shebesh, Westlands Area Member of Parliament Tim Wanyonyi and Chris Wamalwa.