Amrouche recalls goalkeeper Jerim Onyango for Harambee Stars duty

Onyango, who has been in and out of the team, returns to fight for the goalkeeping position alongside Sofapaka’s Duncan Ochieng and Martin Musalia (AFC Leopards)

By Otieno Otieno

Gor Mahia goalkeeper Jerim Onyango has been recalled to Harambee Stars squad to start preparations for the return leg match of the World Cup qualifier against Nigeria’s Super Eagles in Nairobi on June 5.

Onyango, who has been in and out of the team, makes a comeback to fight for the goalkeeping position alongside Sofapaka’s Duncan Ochieng, Wilson Obungu (Bandari) and Martin Musalia (AFC Leopards).

Thika United forward Kennedy Otieno has earned a call up to the team for the first time after he scored a hat-trick against Karuturi Sports during Sunday's KPL fixture in Thika. Other new faces include Chemelil Sugar's Daniel Mutai, Ben Barasa of Sony Sugar, David Mwaura (Mathare United) and of Benedict Owuor KCB.

Coach Adel Amrouche also confirmed he had axed AFC Leopards defender Edwin Wafula for indiscipline as he unveiled a 25 member squad comprising of local based players.

Wafula was sent off against Chemelil Sugar during their Kenyan Premier League (KPL) Top 8 match last Wednesday in a move that has cost him his place in the team.

During that match, Wafula was sent to early showers for elbowing Chemelil striker Joe Obwore. Amrouche said he was unhappy by Wafula's behavior because 'it portrayed negatively the image of the national team.'

"He is a good player but his conduct does not augur well for the national team. However, he is eligible for future call-ups," Amrouche told

Kenya must beat Nigeria in Nairobi if they are to keep alive their chances of qualifying for the 2014 World Cup to held in Brazil. Kenya are currently bottom of the table with 2 points and defeat to the Africa champions will mean they are out of contention.

Name Club
Martin Musalia AFC Leopards
Duncan Ochieng Sofapaka
Jerim Onyango Gor Mahia
Wilson Obungu  Bandari
David Ochieng Tusker
Mulinge Ndetto Ulinzi Stars
Bennedict Owuor KCB
Abdulfatif Omar Bandari
Llyod Wahome Mathare United
Musa Mohammed Gor Mahia
Joseph Shikokoti Tusker
David Owino Gor Mahia
Joseph Shikokoti Tusker FC
Ali Bhai Bandari
Danie Mwaura Mathare United
David Kingatua Thika United
Francis Kahata Thika United
Ben Baraza Sony Sugar
Rama Salim Gor Mahia
George Owino Sofapaka
Patillah Omotto AFC Leopards
Jacob Keli KCB
Ismael Dunga Tusker
Daniel Mutai Chemelil Sugar
Kennedy Otieno Thika United