New dawn for Kenya Division One League can reveal that pay TV Channel SuperSport has signed an agreement with Kenya federation to air live some of Division One league matches this season
By Otieno Otieno

Pay television SuperSport will broadcast live some matches of the Kenya Division One league in a move expected to raise football standards in the lower region.

The company has tentatively agreed to air some matches of the league after receiving a request from a committee mandated by Football Kenya Federation (FKF) to look for sponsors.

According to Chris Amimo, a member of the committee and Chairman of Ligi Ndogo, the exact details of the broadcast are being worked out but he insisted that as a beginning there will be no money paid by SuperSport.

He thanked Kenya FA for having initiated talks to bring SuperSport on board. "Plans are at an advanced stage to have SuperSport air our matches. They are just waiting for the go ahead from the federation to start rolling out."

"We have already had an agreement with SuperSport, who in turn have written to Kenya FA confirming the same. At the moment, we are working on logistics to make this a reality," Amimo told

SuperSport are currently the broadcast rights holders for the Kenyan Premier League after paying Sh1billion for a five year deal. However, it is not yet clear when the league will kick-off.

The league will however, feature an increased number of teams—from the initial 40 to 48—which will be divided into two zones (A and B). Each zone will be have 24 teams split into two groups.

Zone ‘A’ Group One— Bidco, AP, Ligi Ndogo, Moyas, KRA, Green Berets, Congo, Sparki Youth, Maweni City, Kiamabakia Christian Centre (KCC), Brighter Stars, Muranga United; Group Two—Admiral, Mahakama, Kariobangi Sharks, Nairobi Stima, Magongo Rangers, Coast United, Kibera Celtic, Posta Rangers, Mt. Kenya, Jericho All Stars, Tala, Nakumat.

Zone B Group One—Nzoia United, Nakuru All Stars, West Kenya Sugar, Zoo Kericho, GFC 105, Timsales, Shabana, Comply, MumCop, ADC Swan Orchards, Kisero, Kolongolo; Group Two— Oserian, Agro Chemicals, Finlays, Hotsprings, Longonot, Kakamega Stars, Kisumu Municipal, Utawala, St. Joseph’s, Raiders, Kisumu Youth Olympic Centre (KYOC) and Talanta.