Kenya Premier League clears Ugandan quartet to feature for Tusker in 2013

Andrew Ssekakyombya, Kiiza Martin, Awuton Khalid and Robert Omunuk are now eligible to play in Kenya following successful processing of their ITC

The four Ugandan players recently signed by Tusker have been cleared to feature in the 2013 Kenyan Premier League.

Andrew Ssekakyombya, Kiiza Martin, Awuton Khalid and Robert Omunuk were acquired by the Kenyan league defending champions from the Ugandan Super League three weeks ago, and have impressed in training and during the pre season matches the club participated in Tanzania and Zanzibar.

The Ugandan FA has approved the transfer for the four players' and issued them with an International Transfer Certificate. Fifa regulations stipulates that players over the age of 16 years to be cleared before playing outside their homeland.

The development was confirmed to by the club team manager Willis Waliaula. "Yes. The documents (International Transfer Certificates) for the four are ready and we appreciate the efforts by Kenya and Uganda FA's."

"Obviously, they don't require a work permit to play in Kenya owing to the East African Community. These players are really talented and I am confident they will make a big impact at the club." Tusker are scheduled to represent the country in the regional (Kagame Cup tournament) and continental (Africa Champions League ) assignments in 2013.

The brewers' tactician Robert Matano has been working round the clock to strengthen the squad and with the exception of the Ugandan quartet, he has recruited from the Kenyan league. Matano raided Mathare United and made off with strikers Jesse Were and Andrew Tololwa.

Other new faces at the Ruaraka-based side are Titus Wamalwa and Victor Maji who join in from Karuturi Sports and Edwin Ombasa from relegated Rangers, Justin Monda from Western Stima and Ishmael Dunga from Sony Sugar.

Those who created room for the new players include Obadiah Ndege, Chrispin Olando, Dennis Mukaisi, Joseph Emeka, Patrick Kagogo, Joackins Atudo, David Nyanzi, Fred Ajwang’, Isaac Otieno, Charles Odette, Allan Katerega and Andrew Murunga.