Ulinzi Stars appoint striker Evans Amwoka new captain for the 2013 season

The army men hit man, who was the team's top scorer last season, takes over the armband from Kokoyo and will be deputized by Jacktone Odhiambo

Kenya Premier League (KPL) champions Ulinzi Stars have appointed striker Evans Amwoka as the new skipper ahead of the 2013 Tusker Premier League (TPL) season that kicks-off on February 16.

Amwoka, who was the team's top scorer last season after notching twelve goals, takes over the armband from Geoffrey Kokoyo and will be deputized by goalkeeeper Jacktone Odhiambo.

“We made the decision in consultation with the technical bench. We chose Amwoka because he has impressed us with his leadership qualities and we trust he will take up the responsibility well,” Cairman Lt. Col JS Mwinyikai told the club's official website.

The army men, who won the league in 2010 have named a 30-man squad for the upcoming season where they will compete for trophies in three fronts.

Former Mathare United midfielder Elvis Nandwa, who signed on a two year deal on Monday is in the squad alongside Oliver Agwanda and Salim Mohammed, who made the cut from the CDF Cup team while Fred Chitai and Sylus Shitote are the new players who will be graduating from the Recruit Training School.

Ulinzi's assistant Coach Sammy Simiyu remains optimistic that they are ready for the new season. “The players are responding very well to training. The coach has instilled a lot of positives into the team and everyone is looking forward to the new season."

“We have faith in the players that we have selected and we hope they are going to play well so that we recapture the league title we lost in 2011."

Goalkeepers; Jacktone Odhiambo, Francis Ochieng’, James Saruni. Defenders; Kelvin Ouma, Mulinge Ndetto, Geoffrey Kokoyo, Josiah Okello, Richard Chege, Oliver Rutto, Amon Mwamburi, Mohammed Hassan Rio, Fred Chitai, Sylus Shitote.

Midfielders; Stephen Ochollah, Lawrence Owino, Chester Okoyo, Ismail Ibrahim, Erick Apul, Kelvin Simiyu, Stephen Waruru, Kelvin Amwayi, Antony Muriithi, Justine Onwong’a, Salim Mohammed, Oliver Agwanda, Elvis Nandwa.

Strikers; Amwoka Evans, Allan Muhati, Enock Momanyi, Ochomo Wycliffe.