Uganda- Kenya Preview: Harambee Stars seeking for elusive regional Cecafa trophy

Champions Cranes standing Kenya's way of lifting the regional tournament diadem when the two rivals lock horns in the final at Namboole Stadium


Hamza Muwonge
Guma, Isinde, Kalungi, Walusimbi
Oloya, Waswa (capt), Kizito
Kiiza, Okwi, Ssentongo

Duncan Ochieng
Kimani (capt), Atudo, Ochieng', Juma
Mieno, Owino, Omondi
Rama Salim, Baraza, Miheso

Kenya’s Harambee Stars will miss the services of striker Victor Ochieng and midfielder Bernard Mango’li when they renew rivalry with Uganda Cranes in the final of the Cecafa Challenge Cup at Namboole Stadium on Saturday.

Both Ochieng and Mango’li have been ruled out by Stars stand in coach James Nandwa owing to injuries. Kenya come face to face with Cranes, who have enjoyed a better record against them since Scottish tactician Bob Williamson took over the reigns.

The two sides met in the opening match of the regional tournament with Cranes edging out Kenya 1-0. Kenya last won the regional tournament in 2002 after beating Tanzania in the final. The Kenyans reached the 2008 final in Kampala but lost to Cranes in the final.

However, Nandwa remain unperturbed by this statistics. He believes that after playing the hosts in the opening match, he has a strategy to counter them.

“Unlike Zanzibar which we had not played before, we know Cranes’ weaknesses that we will exploit if we are to do well. We will execute our game plan and hope to get the best result," Nandwa told

Mike Baraza whose display against Zanzibar lifted Stars to the finals, is a sure bet to start upfront and he could partner either Humphrey Mieno or Edwin Lavatsa.

Moses Oloya, Hamis Kiiza whose speed can be destructive to the opposition as well as two goal hero against Tanzania Robert Ssentongo are among the danger men that Kenya’s rearguard will have to keep a keen eye on.

  • Uganda Cranes is yet to concede a goal in the Cecafa tournament that ends on Saturday.

  • Uganda Cranes has won the regional trophy a record 12 times while Kenya have won it five times.

  • Kenya has not won the trophy (pictured) since 2002 when they beat Tanzania’s Kilimanjaro Stars to triumph.

  • The last time Kenya played Uganda they went down 1-0 in the opening Group stage match of ongoing Cecafa Cup.

  • Uganda Cranes are the defending champions after they won the title last year in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

  • Kenya halted Uganda's dreams of featuring in the Cup of Nations finals held in Gabon/Equatorial Guinea early this year when they drew 0-0 in at the Namboole Stadium in November 2011.

  • Kenya is being handled by temporary coach in the tournament – James Nandwa - since head coach Henri Michel is preparing another team for the Chan qualifiers.

  • Tanzania will face Zanzibar in the third place play-off match before the final kicks-off.