thumbnail Hello,

AFC Leopards' duo of Mike Baraza and speedy Paul Were are set to start in Tuesday's tie alongside Gor Mahia's midfield ace Kevin "Daddy" Omondi

Harambee Stars coach James Nandwa has shuffled the attacking formation by bringing in three new faces in his starting line up to face Southern Sudan on Tuesday in the ongoing Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup.

Veteran AFC Leopards striker Mike Baraza is set to earn a starting role to spearhead attacks at the expense of Rama Salim who failed to impress in the team’s 1-0 defeat to Uganda in the opening match on Saturday.

In midfield, speedy winger Paul Were who came on as a second half substitute together with Gor Mahia’s attacking midfielder Kevin ‘Daddy’ Omondi, are also set for starting roles.

Bernard Mang’oli and Thika United’s midfielder Clifton Miheso drops to the bench. The defensive formation, however, remains unchanged with team captain Anthony Kimani starting at the right fullback position, with Gor Mahia’s David Owino and Tusker’s Jockins Atudo commandeering the midfield and Sofapaka’s Juma Abdallah being deployed at the left fullback position.

“We want pace upfront and we will be going for early goals to ease the pressure on the players. This is why we have decided to bring in Kevin Omondi and Paul Were on the flanks, we have also decided to deploy Barasa in the striking position to finish off the chances created, something we lacked in our first match against Uganda,” said Nandwa.

“We are aware that South Sudan are debutants in this tournament, but we cannot afford to under rate them after seeing their performance against Ethiopia in the tournament’s opening match. We treat each of our opponents with equal respect and Southern Sudan would not be exceptional.”

Stars put up a strong display, but a lapse in concentration saw Cranes score a vital goal through Geoffrey Kizito. Stars must now beat South Sudan to habour any realistic hopes of advancing to the quarter-finals.

Starting squad; Duncan Ochieng, Juma Abdallah, Anthony ‘Modoh’ Kimani, David Owino, Jockins Atudo, David ‘Cheche’ Ochieng, Anthony ‘Muki’ Kimani, Kevin Omondi, Paul Were, Humphrey Mieno and Mike Barasa.