Mathare United's Kimani picked to captain Harambee Stars in Cecafa tourney

Coach James Nandwa settles for experience picking Kimani as the overal captain and will be assisted by AFC Leopards midfielder Bernard Mangoli

Mathare United skipper Anthony Kimani will captain Harambee Stars at the Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup that kicks-off at the Namboole stadium in Kampala, Uganda, on Saturday.

Head coach James Nandwa revealed to that he had settled on the Mathare centre half to lead his charges on and off the pitch while AFC Leopards midfielder Bernard Mangoli will deputize.

Nandwa said that the two are disciplined and have the leadership qualities to guide the youthful side. Kimani reported to camp only Wednesday as a replacement for the injured Ibrahim Shikanda.

Speaking to before the 20-man squad left for Kampala, Kimani said he was elated to skipper the team at the regional tournament.

“It’s a good thing for me because it’s everyone’s dream to play for the national team. I’m proud and humbled to captain the team.”

“Being a captain means you have to give the best for your team on and off the pitch, keeping the boys together. “Now the task is to continue working hard with the rest of the squad, and come Saturday, we get ready for the battle against Uganda Cranes. I have strong believe we will return home with the trophy.”

Kenya have been pooled in Group "A" alongside debutantes South Sudan, Uganda and Ethiopia. Group "B" incorporates Sudan, Tanzania, Somalia and Burundi while Group "C" comprises Malawi, Rwanda, Zanzibar and Eritrea.

Ethiopia, who will represent the East African region at the Afcon 2013, will play the opening match against South Sudan. Malawi have been incorporated into the tournament as guest team.

Name Club
Martin Musalia Mathare United
Duncan Ochieng Sofapaka
Thomas Wanyama Sofapaka
Abdalla Juma Sofapaka
Anthony Kimani Mathare United
David Owino Gor Mahia
Joackins Atudo Tusker
David Ochieng Tusker
Patilla Omotto Kariobangi Sharks
Bernard Mangoli AFC Leopards
Humphrey Mieno Sofapaka
Paul Were AFC Leopards
Clifford Miheso  Thika United
Anthony Kimani Sofapaka
Kevin Omondi Gor Mahia
Michael Baraza AFC Leopards
Rama Salim Gor Mahia
Edwin Lavasta Gor Mahia
Enock Agwanda  
Sony Sugar
Victor Ochieng AFC Leopards
James Nandwa Coach
Ken Odhiambo Assistant Coach
Gabriel Olang' Team Manager
Rizik Ziwa Keeper Trainer