No Kenyan player as Caf release list for the annual player of the year award

England champions Manchester City's Yaya Toure, who won the award last season, has been shortlisted again alongside Senegal's Demba Ba
Kenya players are missing from the shortlisted Confederation of African football annual player of the year awards. The 34 man squad include Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure who won the award last year and three players who ply their trade with African clubs.

The African based trio on the shortlist are Zambian duo Rainfold Kalaba and Stopilla Sunzu who are recognized for the exploits during the 2012 African Cup of Nations, and Tunisian nationa Youssef Msakni.

The African Footballer of the Year award is predominantly won by players based outside Africa while the African Player of the Year prize is dedicated to players plying their trade within Africa.

Sunzu, scorer of the winning penalty against Ivory Coast in the Africa Cup of Nations final, is delighted that his performances have been recognised. "It's the first time I am being nominated for such an award and I am very pleased," he said.

A total of 34 players are on the shortlist for the African Footballer, while 32 hopefuls are gunning for the African Player of the Year award.

The names of the respective 10 and five finalists will then be sent to national associations, head coaches and secretary generals to select the top three finalists.

The awards, which also include Coach of the Year and Club of the Year will be announced at a ceremony on December 20 in the Banquet Hall, State House in the Ghanaian capital Accra.

Nominees for African Player of the Year: Abdelaziz Barrada - Getafe (Spain) and Morocco, Adel Taarabt-Queens Park Rangers (England) and Morocco, Alain Sibiri Traore-Lorient (France) and Burkina Faso, Alexander Song-Barcelona (Spain) and Cameroon, Andre 'Dede' Ayew - Marseille (France) and Ghana, Arouna Kone - Wigan (England) and Ivory Coast, Aymen Abdennour - Toulouse (France) and Tunisia, Bakaye Traore - AC Milan (Italy) and Mali, Cheick Tiote - Newcastle United (England) and Ivory Coast, Christopher Katongo - Henan Construction (China) and Zambia, Demba Ba-Newcastle United (England) and Senegal, Didier Drogba - Shanghai Shenhua (China) and Ivory Coast, Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu - Udinese (Italy) and Ghana, Emmanuel Mayuka - Southampton (England) and Zambia, Foxi Kethevoama - FC Astana (Kazakhstan) and Central African Republic, Gervinho - Arsenal (England) and Ivory Coast, Hilaire Momi - Le Mans (France) and Central African Republic, John Obi Mikel - Chelsea (England) and Nigeria John Utaka - Montpellier (France) and Nigeria, Kwadwo Asamoah - Juventus (Italy) and Ghana, Moussa Sow - Fenerbahce (Turkey) and Senegal, Nicolas N'koulou - Marseille (France) and Cameroon, Papiss Demba Cisse - Newcastle United (England) and Senegal, Pape Moussa Konate - FC Krasnodar (Russia) and Senegal, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - St Etienne (France) and Gabon,Rainford Kalaba - TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Zambia, Seydou Doumbia - CSKA Moscow (Russia) and Ivory Coast, Seydou Keita - Dalian Aerbin (China) and Mali,  Sofiane Feghouli - Valencia (Spain) and Algeria, Stoppila Sunzu - TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Zambia, Victor Moses - Chelsea (England) and Nigeria, Yaya Toure - Manchester City (England) and Ivory Coast, Younes Belhanda - Montpellier (France) and Morocco, Youssef Msakni - Esperance (Tunisia) and Tunisia.