thumbnail Hello,

Long serving play maker Steven Pienaar has however been excluded from the squad after officially announcing his retirement early this week

South African coach Gordon Igesund has named a strong 27 man squad ahead of the build up matches against Poland and Kenya.

Long serving playmaker Steven Pienaar has however been excluded after officially announcing his international retirement early this week.

The squad comprises seven foreign based players. Igesund will be using these matches to fine tune his squad ahead of the upcoming 2013 African Cup of Nations to be hosted in South Africa.

South African beat Kenya 2-0 the last time these two sides met in Rustenberg with goals from David Somma and Pienaar. The match against Kenya will be played at the Nyayo National stadium on October 16 under flood lights.

Coach Gordon Igesund’s travelling squad: Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Wayne Sandilands (Mamelodi Sundowns), Moeneeb Josephs (Orlando Pirates).

Defenders: Thabo Nthethe (Bloemfontein Celtic), Luvhengo Mungomeni (Moroka Swallows), Punch Masenamela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Ricardo Nunes (MSK Zilina) (Slovakia), Bongani Khumalo (PAOK) (Greece) - captain, Siyabonga Sangweni (Orlando Pirates), Erick Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Bevan Fransman (SuperSport United).

Midfielders: Teko Modise (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs), Delron Buckley (Maritzburg United), May Mahlangu (Helsingborg IF) (Sweden), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic) (England), Oupa Manyisa (Orlando Pirates), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Crystal Palace) (England), Sifiso Myeni (Orlando Pirates), Katlego Mashego (Free State Stars), George Lebese (Kaizer Chiefs).

Strikers: Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs), Dino Ndlovu (Maccabi Haifa) (Israel), Tokelo Rantie (Malmo FF) (Sweden).