Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
Salgaocar F.C.

Founded: 1956

Official URL: http://salgaocarsc.com/club.php

Chairman: Shivanand Salgaocar

Club History
Founded in 1956, Salgaocar Sports Club’s inception marked the historic point in Goan football. The smallest state of India got its first football club still while being under the rule of the Portuguese.

It was the birth of a dream, a dream that was conceived in the heart of the football loving Mr. V.M. Salgaocar, founder President of the VM Salgaocar Group of Companies, to give a platform to the Goan youth to showcase their talent to the country, and to the world.

After Goa were liberated from the Portuguese in 1961, Salgaocar Football Club became the first Goan team to be extended an invitation to play in the prestigious Durand Cup 1962 in New Delhi, and such was the joy of a Goan team’s participation in the Durand Cup, that India's first Prime Minister Mr. Jawaharlal Nehru felicitated them at his residence.

Salgaocar have successfully annexed all possible trophies on the Indian circuit, thereby etching their name amongst the top teams in the country. They have also been crowned Goa State Champions for a record 19 times including winners for 3 consecutive years of the Goa Professional League in 2002-2003, 2003–2004 and 2004-2005.

Federation cup wins in 1988, 1989 and 1997 saw Salgaocar Sports Club represent India as its champion dlub at the international level in the IX & X Asian Club Championships in 1989 at Muscat & 1990 at Dhaka respectively and in 1999 in the IX Asian Cup Winners Cup. Though the team didn’t progress through the next rounds in all the editions, they did remarkably well against their highly illustrious opponents.
  • Prev.
  • Next
I-L Salgaocar - Churchill 28/04/14 5:30 PM IST
Active Tournaments
Most Discussed
Top Scorers
Player Goals Penalties
Darryl Duffy Darryl Duffy
13 2
Gilbert Oliveira Gilbert Oliveira
7 1
Dudu Omagbemi Dudu Omagbemi
5 0
Bikash Jairu Bikash Jairu
3 0
Claude Gnakpa Claude Gnakpa
2 0