Ter Stegen & Draxler in, Marin misses out as Low announces preliminary Germany squad for Euro 2012

The young starlets have been rewarded for their fine performances as both men earned senior international call-ups for the first time in their fledgling careers
 GERMANY 10 30
 TURKEY 10 17
 BELGIUM 10 15
 AUSTRIA 10 12

Joachim Low has nominated a 27-man Germany provisional squad to compete for his final selection for Euro 2012.

With many star players set to arrive late due to club commitments, the trainer has selected an expanded team to travel to Sardinia on May 11. And given the opportunity to experiment, Low has selected Monchengladbach goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Schalke midfielder Julian Draxler.

Having only celebrated his 20th birthday last week, the Ter Stegen earns his first call-up, as does the 18-year-old winger Draxler. Additionally, Low has recalled Ilkay Gundogan.

However, the Germany coach opted not to recall Patrick Helmes, Mike Hanke, and Stefan Kiessling, choosing Cacau as his third striker alongside Miroslav Klose and Mario Gomez. Additionally, Marko Marin, Simon Rolfes, Christian Trasch and Dennis Aogo will miss out on the tournament.

Low will be without many of his key players as he begins preparations later this week. Sven Bender, Mario Gotze, Mats Hummels and Marcel Schmelzer will be with Dortmund through May 12th, when the DFB-Pokal final takes place. In addition, Real Madrid duo Mesut Ozil and Sami Khedira will not join the national team until after their final Liga match, on May 13.

The biggest loss Low will suffer is the absence of eight Bayern Munich players - including captain Philipp Lahm and deputy Bastian Schweinsteiger - who will be with their club until after May 22, when a friendly with the Netherlands is scheduled to be played. Accordingly, he has named an expanded squad, which will be trimmed to 23 on May 29.

The squad in full:

Manuel Neuer Bayern Munich
Marc-Andre ter Stegen Monchengladbach
Tim Wiese Werder Bremen
Ron-Robert Zieler Hannover
Holger Badstuber Bayern Munich
Jerome Boateng Bayern Munich
Benedikt Howedes Schalke
Mats Hummels Dortmund
Philipp Lahm Bayern Munich
Per Mertesacker Arsenal
Marcel Schmelzer Dortmund
Lars Bender Leverkusen
Sven Bender Dortmund
Mario Gotze Dortmund
Ilkay Gundogan Dortmund
Sami Khedira Real Madrid
Toni Kroos Bayern Munich
Mesut Ozil Real Madrid
Bastian Schweinsteiger    Bayern Munich
Cacau Stuttgart
Julian Draxler Schalke
Mario Gomez Bayern Munich
Miroslav Klose Lazio
Thomas Muller Bayern Munich
Lukas Podolski Koln
Marco Reus Monchengladbach
Andre Schurrle Leverkusen