Ferguson, Klopp and Heynckes up for Coach of the Year prize

The former Manchester United boss, who retired over the summer faces tough competition from two German coaches for the award
Sir Alex Ferguson, Jurgen Klopp and Jupp Heynckes have been named on a three-man shortlist for this year's Fifa World Coach of the Year prize.

Ferguson retired over the summer after guiding Manchester United to the Premier League title, while Klopp reached the Champions League final with Dortmund, in which BVB were beaten by Bayern Munich.

But the favourite for the award is former Bayern boss Heynckes, who also called time on his coaching career in June, after guiding the Bavarians to a sensational treble last term.

The 68-year-old lifted the Bundesliga, DFB-Pokal and the Champions League before being replaced by former Barcelona boss Pep Guardiola.

The award was created back in 2010 as the coaching equivalent of the Ballon d'Or, with Jose Mourinho taking home the gong and Guardiola doing the same a year later. The current holder is Spain boss Vicente del Bosque, following his Euro 2012 success with la Roja.

The 2013 winner will be crowned at the Ballon d'Or ceremony in Zurich on January 13.