thumbnail Hello,

The Gunners will look to get their season up and running. Goal looks at the pre-season friendlies that Arsenal will play before they begin their campaign

Eight years without a trophy, one year left on his contract. Surely the pressure is on Arsene Wenger to deliver. With Arsenal having one of the biggest transfer budgets in the club's history, Arsenal fans hope that it might be the year where the Frenchman loosens his purse a bit.

Here is a look at when and how Arsenal began their preparations.

Back to work from July 1st


The Gunners began their pre-season preparations on the first of this month. The notable absentees were the Spanish duo of Santi Cazorla and Nacho Monreal and Arsenal’s new signing Yaya Sanogo due to their international commitments.

Arsenal have also scheduled an open training in the Saitama City on 25th July, 2013.

Pre-Season Friendlies

I
Indonesia Dream Team v/s Arsenal
Date: 14th July, 2013

Venue: Gelora Bung Karno Stadium, Jakarta

MATCH REPORT

 


Arsenal scored six second-half goals to produce a flattering scoreline as Chuba Akpom, Kristoffer Olsson and Thomas Eisfeld got on the scoresheet besides Theo Walcott, Olivier Giroud and Lukas Podolski.

 

II
II Vietnam v/s Arsenal
Date: 17th July, 2013

Venue: My Dinh National Stadium, Hanoi, Vietnam

MATCH REPORT

Arsenal became the first Premier League club to play against the Vietnamese National team who are ranked 145 in the world, just one place above India.

 

III
Nagoya Grampus v/s Arsenal
Date: 22nd July, 2013

Venue: Toyota Stadium, Nagoya, Japan

Kick-Off: 16:00 IST
11:30 BST
10:30 GMT

Wenger managed this Japanese side in the 1995-96 season and will return to his old stomping ground with Arsenal.

About the opposition

Nagoya Grampus is a team which plays in the J-League. The club, which has had players like Dragan Stojikovic and Gary Linekar during the Wenger era, has won the J-League recently in the year 2010. Managed by the Emperor Cup winner and club legend Stojikovic, the club boasts of the presence of Joshua Kennedy and Seigo Narzaki.

 

IV
Urawa Red Diamonds v/s Arsenal
Date: 26th July, 2013

Venue: Saitama Stadium, Saitama City, Japan

Kick-Off: 16:00 IST
11:30 BST
10:30 GMT

The final stop of the Arsenal Asia Tour 2013 sees the Gunners go against the Urawa Red Diamonds, a J-League outfit.

About the opposition

Founded in the year 1950, the Urawa Red Diamonds are one of the most supported clubs in the Japanese League. Founded by the Mitsubishi Motors, the team is managed by the Serbian Mihailo Petrović.

 

V
Arsenal v/s Napoli and Galatasaray
Date: 3rd August, 2013 and 4th August, 2013 respectively

Venue: Emirates Stadium, London

Kick-Off (both the days): 20:50 IST
16:20 BST
15:20 GMT

The final string of pre-season friendlies which Arsenal will play will be the Emirates Cup. Started in the year 2007, the Emirates Cup shall see four teams participate including Arsenal. Each team plays two games over the course of two days and the one with maximum points or goals scored ends up winning the Cup. Arsenal play Napoli and Galatasaray this season.

 

VI
Arsenal v/s Manchester City
Date: 10th August, 2013

Venue: Olympic Stadium, Helsinki, Finland

Kick-Off: 19:30 IST
15:00 BST
14:00 GMT

It will be freezing conditions in Finland where Arsenal will meet Manchester City in the last amongst the long list of pre-season friendlies. Both the clubs met in Beijing last year in which City took tie with a 2-0 scoreline. The match will be held just one week before the commencement of the new Premier League season and will be a curtain raiser for the new season.

 

Juventus
Arsenal’s Man to Watch - Ryo Miyaichi

Quick feet, sharp mind and a sweltering speed define the young winger. Being ambidextrous, the 20 year old Japanese starlet can be deployed on both flanks. Arsenal have been looking out for a winger with Gervinho failing to perform since his arrival from Lille and Miyaichi might be an answer to that. The only area where Miyaichi needs to work on is his finishing.

 

What the Bench-warmers need to do...

Carl Jenkinson hasn't been a consistent performer and will look to catch the manager's eye during the pre-season. With Bacary Sagna’s contract situation still unresolved, Jenkinson could be expected to step up. Lukaz Fabianski and Wojciech Szczesny are the two keepers fighting for the number 1 spot. With Arsenal being linked to Julio Cesar, the two will be keen to impress during the pre-season.

Follow Rishabh Ghai on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.

Related