Koevermans makes five changes to the national squad

The Dutch coach has made five changes to the national squad for the upcoming friendly next month....

Indian national team coach Wim Koevermans has announced his squad of 20 players for an international friendly which are scheduled to take place against Bangladesh at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Goa on March 5.

Amongst those dropped are goalkeepers Subashish Chowdhury and Arindam Bhattacharya, defenders Nicolau Colaco and Raju Gaikwad and striker CK Vineeth. Dawson Fernandes and Arata Izumi are injured and hence out of contention for a place in the squad.

Meanwhile Subrata Paul, Amrinder Singh, Sandesh Jhingan, Alwyn George and Balwant Singh have been named in the squad. 

Amrinder Singh has been impressive between the sticks this season for Pune FC. Subrata Paul performed well for Rangdajied United until December before leaving for Denmark to join FC Vestsjaelland. Mumbai FC's Sandesh Jhingan, whom Bhaichung Bhutia consideres as one of the best centre-backs in the country, has also been recalled.

Alywn George and Balwant Singh have been in good form lately for Dempo SC and Churchill Brothers respectively and their additions would surely add more venom to the Indian attack.

GOALKEEPERS:Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC), Amrinder Singh (Pune FC), Subrata Paul (FC Vestsjaelland).

DEFENDERS: Denzil Franco (Churchill Brothers), Arnab Mondal (East Bengal), Aibhorlang Khongjee (Mohun Bagan), Sandesh Jhingan (Mumbai FC), Gurjinder Kumar (Pune FC), Narayan Das (Dempo SC).

MIDFIELDERS: Mehtab Hossain, Lalrindika Ralte (both East Bengal), Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers), Rocus Lamare (Salgaocar SC), Alwyn George, Clifford Miranda (both Dempo SC), Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar SC), Victorino Fernandes (Sporting Clube de Goa).

FORWARDS: Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh (both Bengaluru FC), Balwant Singh (Churchill Brothers).


Subhashish Roychowdhury (Dempo SC), Arindam Bhattacharya (Churchill Brothers), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (East Bengal); Raju Gaikwad (East Bengal), Nicolau Colaco (Salgaocar SC), Mohan Raj (Sporting Clube de Goa); Pronay Halder (Dempo SC), Denson Devadas (Mohun Bagan), Md. Rafique, Asif K (both United SC); CK Vineeth (Bengaluru FC), Jeje Lalpekhlua (Dempo SC), Thongkhosiem Haokip, Gabriel Fernandes (both Pune FC).