Koevermans announces 20-man squad for Singapore friendly

The Dutch coach went for the tried and the tested lot from the Nehru Cup for the away friendly against Singapore…

Manandeep Singh remains a notable absentee from the 20-man squad announced by Wim Koevermans for the international friendly against Singapore given that the striker suffered a knock last weekend when playing for East Bengal.

The former Air India centre-forward has been in top form for East Bengal as he scored three goals in four matches within a span of a week to help his club win the Federation Cup and was included in Goal.com’s Asian Best XI for the month of September.

“We need to assess ourselves. We need more such matches,” said Koevermans.

The Dutchman had included four new faces in his 31-man probable squad in Shouvik Ghosh of Pailan Arrows, Romeo Fernandes of Dempo SC, Prateek Chowdhary and Pradeep Mohanraj of Air India, who failed to make the cut in the end.

India captain Sunil Chhetri stated that India need to build on their Nehru Cup success in order to maintain the winning spirit.

 “It feels nice to think that I will be playing for the National Team along with all my mates. The Nehru Cup triumph stays fresh in our memories and we need to sustain the momentum,” Chhetri opined.

The Blue Tigers are to land in Singapore on Octobers 13 and shall train at the Cho Chu Kang Stadium for the next two days.

The 20-member list stays as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Paul, Subhasish Roychowdhury, Karanjeet Singh.

DEFENDERS: Nirmal Chettri, Denzil Franco, Gouramangi Moirangthem, Gurwinder Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Syed Rahim Nabi.

MIDFIELDERS: Lenny Rodrigues, Mehtab Hussain, Jewel Raja, Francis Fernandes, Alwyn George, Anthony Pereira, Sanju Pradhan, Clifford Miranda.

FORWARDS: Robin Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Joaquim Abranches.