India coach Wim Koevermans names 37 probables for Nehru Cup

The former Dutch international has selected seven players who represented the India U-22 side in the recently concluded AFC U-22 Championship Qualifiers in Muscat...
Indian national team coach Wim Koevermans has named 37 players for the preparatory camp for the Nehru Cup which kicks-off on 23rd August 2012.

“I’m happy to find players for the start of the preparation of the Nehru Cup and I’m looking forward to working with them and start developing the team together along with the support staff,” said Koevermans.

Koevermans, who watched the exploits of the Indian team at the AFC U-22 Championship Qualifiers in Muscat, has also summoned seven players from the U-22 team.

“In Muscat the U-22 boys did put up a good show. I felt it best to call some of them for the Camp to see how they cope up with the Senior team players. It’s a different level after all,” he added.

Besides strikers Jeje Lalpekhlua and Manandeep Singh, midfielders Lalrindika Ralte, Milan Singh, Alwyn George, stopper-back Shouvik Ghosh and goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu have also been called to camp.

The list of players expected to report to the camp on 27 July are as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Paul, Subhasish Roychowdhury, Karanjit Singh, Arindam Bhattacharya, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu.

DEFENDERS: Nirmal Chettri, Denzil Franco, Nicolas Colaco, Gouramangi Moirangthem, Gurwinder Singh, Rowilson Rodriguez, Raju Gaikwad, Khelemba Meitei, Shouvik Ghosh, Gurjinder Singh, Syed Rahim Nabi, Mohan Raj.

MIDFIELDERS: Mehtab Hussain, Adil Khan, Rocus Lamare, Milan Singh, Baldeep Singh, Denson Devdas, Lalrindika Ralte, Jewel Raja, Francis Fernandes, Alwyn George, Anthony Pereira, Gilbert Oliviera, Sanju Pradhan, Clifford Miranda.

FORWARDS: Robin Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Manandeep Singh, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sushil Singh, Joaquim Abranches.

Follow India on

How do you stay up to date with football when on the move? With – your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.