I-League team of the Round 11: Bineesh Balan and Henry Antchouet shine as Churchill thrash Sporting to go top

Goal.com summarizes all the action from this week’s games in the I-League and chooses an XI from the best performers.
Round 11 of the I-League saw a flood of goals in some games while others were cagey affairs as the teams tussled for points and we also witnessed a couple of surprising results at the top of the table.

In the battle of the cellar dwellers, Salgaocar and ONGC played out a 0-0 draw that did neither team any favours. Both sides failed to make the most of their chances in a game in which both were desperately in need of the three points. David Booth’s men would be disappointed though, as they also could not capitalise on home advantage. The draw keeps both sides rooted to the bottom of the table with seven points separated only by goal difference.

The game between Mohun Bagan and Pailan Arrows was postponed.

League leaders Dempo were thrashed 1-5 by a rampant Pune on their own turf. This was a rude awakening for Armando Colaco’s men who were decisively second best on the day. James Moga, Arata Izumi, Jeje Lalpekhlua and Douhou Pierre all got on the score sheet as the floodgates opened. The result sees the Red Lizards continue their domination over Goan teams away from home.

Mumbai FC registered a narrow 1-0 win against a toothless United Sikkim. As the game wore on the home side settled and gradually increased the pressure on Nathan Hall’s troops. They finally took the lead on the stroke of half-time through ND Opara. The visitors would have been gutted to concede so late in the half and in a game where they had few chances of note they could not find a reply.

East Bengal suffered a surprise 1-0 defeat to Prayag United as they failed to take advantage of Dempo’s slip at the top. In an ill-tempered clash at the Salt Lake Stadium, a late Ranti Martins goal was enough to see Eelco Schatotrie’s men secure a vital win. The home side’s first defeat of the season also ends their 15-match unbeaten run in the top division this season.

Air India and Shillong Lajong shared the spoils after a 1-1 draw. The Airmen will be disappointed at not being able to hold on to a slender 1-0 advantage at home. In a game with few chances, Air India took the lead in the 69th minute through Souvik Chakrabarty. This forced the away side, who had rarely threatened for most of the game to come out of their shells and adopt a more attacking approach. They were rewarded when substitute Boithang Haokip lashed in from outside the box.

In a truly remarkable game, high-flying Churchill Brothers thrashed Sporting CLube de Goa 8-4. Although this was a clash between sides at opposite ends of the table, the scoreline was truly staggering.


Subrata Paul
Prayag United

Othallo Tabia
Pune FC

Bello Rasaq
Prayag United


Nicholas Rodrigues
Mumbai FC


Churchill Brothers SC

Lalkamal Bhowmick
Prayag United

Douhou Pierre
Pune FC

Khanthang Paite
Pune FC

Bineesh Balan
Churchill Brothers SC

James Moga
Pune FC


Henry Antchouet
Churchill Brothers SC

Do YOU agree with our team of the round? Let us know by commenting below......

How do you stay up to date with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com – your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.