thumbnail Hello,

With Sunil Chhetri having joined the 'B' side of the Portuguese superpower, quickly profiles the essentials of the Green and Whites...

Name: Sporting Clube de Portugal

Nicknames: Sportinguistas, Leoes (The Lions), Verde-e-Brancos (green and whites)

Founded: July 1st 1906

Current President: Luis Godinho Lopes

Coach: Ricardo Sa Pinto Stadium:Estadio Jose Alvalade

USP: The third most successful Portuguese football club after Benfica and Porto. Have one of the strongest academies in all of Europe.
Did you know: That Sporting Club de Portugal is an umbrella name for several different fields of sports. Currently, their other teams include archery, athletics, beach football, billiards, chess, boxing, kickboxing, shooting, handball, futsal, gymnastics, table tennis, swimming, weightlifting, taekwondo and a Superleague Formula racing team.

Quick History: After a split in the Clube Internacional de Futebol between members who wanted to maintain the social aspects and those who wanted to maintain the sporting aspects, Visconde Jose de Alvalade founded a new club and provided them a field on one of his farms. There, in fact, the club stands to this day. They played their first game on 3rd February 1907, losing the Second Division match 5-1 against Cruz Negra. Their first match against now-eternal rivals Benfica (known back then as Sport Lisboa) was a 2-1 win. They finished their first season as league runners-up. They won their first 'national title', the Campeonato de Portugal in the 1922-23 season, thanks to the brilliance of club legend Francisco Stromp. Their first standardized league title came in 1940-41 and they had a golden era through the 40s and 50s, winning 10 league titles and 4 Portuguese Cups. Their first European trophy came in 1964 with their success in the European Cup Winners' Cup. They have been steadily successful ever since.


Primeira Liga Winners (18): 1940–1941, 1943–1944, 1946–1947, 1947–1948, 1948–1949, 1950–1951, 1951–1952, 1952–1953, 1953–1954, 1957–1958, 1961–1962, 1965–1966, 1969–1970, 1973–1974, 1979–1980, 1981–1982, 1999–2000, 2001–2002

Portuguese Cup Winners (19): 1922–1923, 1933–1934, 1935–1936, 1937–1938, 1940–1941, 1944–1945, 1945–1946, 1947–1948, 1953–1954, 1962–1963, 1970–1971, 1972–1973, 1973–1974, 1977–1978, 1981–1982, 1994–1995, 2001–2002, 2006–2007, 2007–2008

Portuguese SuperCup Winners (7): 1982, 1987, 1995, 2000, 2002, 2007, 2008 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup Winners (1): 1963–1964 Intertoto Cup Winners (1): 1968

Notable Current Players: Portuguese goalkeeper Rui Patricio whom we had the privilege of seeing in action between the sticks for the Portugal National Team at the recently concluded Euros. Experienced Dutch international Stijn Schaars, who has been an international utility player, his versatility in the middle of the park being quite invaluable. Schaar's compatriot, the exciting Dutch attacker Ricky van Wolfswinkel, who might have found a place in the Euro squad but for the brilliant club form of van Persie and Huntelaar. In hindsight, maybe the 23 year old might have made a difference.

Notable academy products: The sheer amount of Portuguese talent Sporting's academy has churned out is incredible. Some of their more notable products include two FIFA World Players of the Year Luis Figo and Cristiano Ronaldo, more than any other academy anywhere has produced. Other familiar Portuguese names include Nani, Miguel Veloso, Luis Boa Morte, Ricardo Quaresma, Hugo Viana and Nuno Valente.

How do you stay up to date with football when on the move? With – your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.