Santosh Trophy round-up: Goa and Maharashtra off to a flying start

The west zone qualifiers of the 68th Santosh Trophy commenced and shall conclude on 3 February 2014...
The west zone qualifiers of the Santosh Trophy witnessed Maharashtra score three goals past Gujarat in a group A match at the Tilak Maidan stadium in Vasco, Goa, on Thursday.

Allan Dias scored the opener in the sixth minute and bagged his brace in the 63rd minute, while Sushant Bhivgade completed the 3-0 route to seal the match in second half injury time.

Meanwhile, in group B, Goa drubbed Daman & Diu 5-0 in another west zone qualifier that was played at the Duler stadium.

Joel Sequeira was the first to get his name on the scoresheet in the 37th minute, which was the only goal scored in the first half, although it took just five minutes in the second half for Sachin Gawas to double the Goans' lead.

Alvito Miranda converted from the spot to make it 3-0 in the 67th minute before he scored another goal in the 79th minute. Substitute Nicholas Fernandes put the final nail on the coffin just before full time.

Gujarat face Madhya Pradesh, while Daman & Diu take on Rajasthan in groups A and B respectively on Saturday.

Other updates:

Group A of the North Zone qualifiers also kicked off on Thursday where Uttarakhand defeated Delhi 3-2 and Haryana overcame Chandigarh 2-1 at the Dr. Ambedkar stadium in Delhi.

However, the South Zone and East Zone qualifiers got underway from 26 January, while the North East Zone saw its first set of matches being played from 27 January.

East Zone:
Date Group Result
26 January A Jharkhand 1-2 Sikkim
27 January B Orissa 5-0 Bihar
27 January B West Bengal 1-0 Chhatisgarh
28 January A Services 4-0 Jharkhand
29 January B Bihar 1-0 West Bengal
29 January B Chhatisgarh 0-0 Orissa
30 January A Sikkim 0-1 Services

South Zone:
Date Result
26 January Tamil Nadu 1-0 Kerala
26 January Andhra Pradesh 5-0 Andaman & Nicobar
28 January Kerala 3-1 Andhra Pradesh
28 January Karnataka 12-0 Andaman & Nicobar
30 January Karnataka 5-2 Andhra Pradesh
30 January Andaman & Nicobar 1-10 Tamil Nadu

North East Zone:
Date Group Result
27 January A Mizoram 3-0 Nagaland
27 January A Manipur 3-1 Arunachal Pradesh
28 January B Meghalaya 4-2 Assam
28 January B Railways 7-0 Tripura
29 January A Nagaland 0-9 Manipur
29 January A Arunchal Pradesh 0-5 Mizoram
30 January B Assam 1-0 Railways
30 January B Tripura 0-1 Meghalaya

 How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.