Federation Cup to kick-off on New Year's day

The tournaments logo has been redesigned as well, with all thirteen I-League teams and a few newer additions in participation. The tournament begins on New Year's Day...

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) on Monday launched the updated fixture list for the 35th edition of the Federation Cup, India’s premier cup competition.

The thirteen teams that participate in the I-League, who had already been included, were joined by United Sikkim, Bhowanipore FC and Langnsing FC, the three remaining teams that filled the vacancies making the total number of entrants sixteen.

United Sikkim replaced Mumbai Tigers, the club that withdrew from the I-League, while Bhowanipore FC and Langnsing FC were included on account of their position in the Second division of the I-League, finishing third and fourth last season respectively.

“Tigers were granted a direct entry into the I-League and subsequently a place in the Federation Cup. Their withdrawal (from the I-League) means they have lost out on a place in the Fed Cup as well,” explained a senior AIFF official.

United Sikkim were placed in Group D while Bhowanipore and Langsning were placed in Groups D and A respectively. Group C has already been certified the ‘Group of Death’.

The AIFF also launched a reworked, vigourous new Federation Cup logo with the coined phrase “Where Pride meets Passion”.

The Group’s for the tournament are as follows:

Group A - Churchill Brothers, United Sports Club, Pune FC Langsning FC

Group B - Sporting Clube de Goa, East Bengal Club, Bengaluru FC, Rangdajied United     

Group C - Salgaocar FC, Mohun Bagan, Mumbai FC, Shillong Lajong

Group D - Dempo SC, Mohammedan Sporting United Sikkim, Bhowanipore



 How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.