Federation Cup reverted back to old format

It was unanimously decided to revert back to the previous format of the Federation Cup only for the 2013-14 season...
The draw for the Federation Cup for the season 2013-14, which would be played on an home and away basis, was earlier announced in June.

However, after the members of the I-League clubs met at the All India Football Federation (AIFF) headquarters in New Delhi, it was concluded that the Federation Cup should revert back to the group and knock-out format. According to sources close to Goal, the said matter was discussed last week when the club representatives met the AIFF and IMG-Reliance last week in Mumbai.

This was incidentally the first time that all club representatives were called to discuss in detail the pros and cons of the cramped scheduling of the I-League and Federation Cup in the calendar.

India's Premier Cup competition is scheduled to be held from January 1-12, 2014. The venue is yet to be decided, while Delhi or Kerala are said to be in contention.

The draw for the Federation Cup which would be played in a Group & Knockout Format is as follows:

GROUP A: Churchill Brothers, United SC, Pune FC, Team 16
Group B: Sporting Clube de Goa, East Bengal, Bengaluru FC, Rangdajied United
Group C: Salgaocar, Mohun Bagan, Mumbai FC, Shillong Lajong
Group D: Dempo SC, Mohammedan Sporting, Mumbai Tigers, Team 15

1st Semifinal: Winner Group A V Winner Group C
2nd Semifinal: Winner Group B V Winner Group D

Winner 1st Semifinal V 2nd Semifinal

Follow Anselm Noronha on 

 How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.