Sunil Chhetri named AIFF Indian Player of the Year

The India skipper equaled IM Vijayan's record of having won the Player of the Year award on three occasions...

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) on Friday named Sunil Chhetri as the Player of the Year. The decision came about after a vote being cast by the coaches from I-League teams.

This is the third occasion that the Bengaluru striker has been honoured with the prestigious award having won it in 2007 and 2011 respectively. He would be presented with a trophy and a prize of Rs, 2 lakh in an awards night to be organized by Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) in February.

Oinam Bembem Devi receivef the Women’s Player of the Year award, which was revived after 2001, and shall get a prize of Rs.1 lakh and a trophy.  

Jeje Lalpekhlua was adjudged as the Emerging Player of the Year and will be honoured with Rs.75000 besides a trophy.

 “My heartiest congratulations to Sunil, Bembem Devi and Jeje. All of them are worthy recipients of the Award,” said AIFF president Praful Patel.

Mizoram FA was recognized for their efforts in the grassroots development while the Tata Football Academy (TFA) were honoured with an award for their contribution to the sport for a long time.

“This is a token of appreciation to the good work they have been doing. We expect others to follow the path,” Mr. Patel added.