thumbnail Hello,

Goal recaps all the action from week two of the I-League and chooses a team from among the best performers...

Another exciting weekend of the I-League came to an end, with United SC sitting on top of the table with six points from two matches.

In the first match of the weekend, Churchill Brothers and Mohun Bagan played out a goalless draw, that lacked creativity from both the sides. The hosts looked toothless in attack, with their foreigners looking well off the pace, while the Mariners clearly missed Odafa Okolie, with all their attacks being instigated by Katsumi Yusa, who almost had no support.

Bengaluru FC notched up their first ever I-League win as they thrashed the newbies Rangdajied FC 3-0 in a home match. A number of Bengaluru players impressed with their free-flowing football against the North-eastern team, who will have to improve quickly, if they are to retain their I-League status.

United made it two wins out of as many matches, and their commitment was praised by none other than the coach of their opponents Sporting Clube de Goa. Eelco Schattorie's side played good, attacking football, and were full value for the 3-1 win.

Mumbai FC and Dempo shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw. Arthur Papas was so furious with his team's display, that he slammed a chair down in disgust at full-time. His side was clearly out-played by a resilient Mumbai FC side, who definitely deserved the late equalizer that Anwar Ali gave them.

In another match, Shillong Lajong and Pune FC played out a 0-0 draw after both the teams had won their first matches away from home. The Red Lizards were a part of another delayed kick-off, though again they were not guilty for the late kick-off, after their first game was delayed due to the lack of a second ambulance in Kolkata, where Mohd. Sporting were the hosts.


United SC


Wahid Sali
Mohun Bagan

John Johnson
Bengaluru FC

Calum Angus

Pune FC

Haroon Amiri
Mumbai FC


Taisuke Matsugane
Shillong Lajong


Eric Brown
United SC

Yusa Katsumi
Mohun Bagan


Beikhokhei Beingaichho
Bengaluru FC

Ranti Martins
United SC


Jeje Lalpekhlua
Dempo SC