TEAM NEWS: Robin Singh starts for India, Ashfaq returns for Maldives

Gouramangi Moirangthem has been handed the captain's armband in the absence of the suspended Chhetri...
Wim Koevermans has opted to start with Robin Singh to replace the suspended Sunil Chhetri as the lone striker.

Nalappan Mohanraj, who has had a shoddy tournament so far, was benched in favour of Syed Nabi into the left back slot. Lenny Rodrigues and Francis Fernandes have been included in the starting eleven after having missed out in the last tie against Nepal.

Maldives coach Istvan Urbanyi included Ali Ashfaq and Ali Fasir, who were rested in the last game, in the line-up with Ahmed Rasheed and Ali Umair being left out.

MALDIVES: Mohamed Shifan, Ahmed Niyaz, Mohamed Arif, Ali Ashfaq, Akram Abdul Ghani, Shafiu Ahmed, Imran Mohamed, Mohamed Umair, Ali Fasir, Ahmed Abdullah, Mohamed Rasheed.

Subs: Mohammad Imran, Ibrahim Irfah Arif, Rilwan Waheed, Ahmed Rasheed, Ismail Easa, Imaaz Ahmed, Abdulla Asadhulla, Ali Umar, Hassan Adhuham.

INDIA: Subrata Paul, Nirmal Chettri, Arnab Mondal, Mehtab Hossain, Gouramangi Singh, Arata Izumi, Lenny Rodrigues, Francis Fernandes, Robin Singh, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Syed Rahim Nabi.

Subs: Karanjit Singh, Sandip Nandy, Raju Gaikwad, Nallappan Mohanraj, Sandesh Jhingan, Jewel Raja, Alwyn George, Dawson Fernandes.


How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.