Durand Cup to commence from September 2

The 126th edition of the Durand Cup begins from September 2 and will see several I-League clubs participate...
The 126th edition of the Durand Cup will see several I-League clubs take part in the tournament featuring the likes of Mohammedan Sporting, Pune FC and Mumbai Tigers among others.

The tournament has been divided into two phases - Stage I and Stage II. Stage I will commence from September 2 and will be a qualifying round. The real test will begin in stage-II when the quarterfinals kick off. The final is scheduled to be held at the Ambedkar Stadium on September 19.

Kolkata's Bhawanipur FC and Kalighat are the two other clubs who will complete the seeded teams. The quarterfinals will see two groups consisting of six teams each.

The prize money for the tournament has seen a major hike with the winners being rewarded with Rs. 25 lakhs whereas the runners-up get Rs. 15 lakhs. The two losing semi finalists will earn Rs. 5 lakhs each. Additional One Lakh will be given to the four semi-finalists.

The organisers also informed that they have exempted the entry fee of Rs 2000 from all participating clubs.

 How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.