Syed Rahim Nabi and Subrata Paul included in India squad for SAFF Championship 2013

Koevermans has named a 20-member squad with six changes from the one that faced Tajikistan in the international friendly earlier this month...
Indian national team coach Wim Koevermans has named his 20-member squad who will be defending their SAFF Championship title at Nepal.

The Blue Tigers are set to leave for Kathmandu on Tuesday, 27 August and are scheduled to play against Pakistan in their first match on 1st September at the 18,000 capacity Dasarath Rangasala Stadium.

Among the players who will miss out due to injuries are defenders Denzil Franco and Gurjinder Kumar, who are replaced by Sandesh Jhingan and Mohanraj Nalappan, while goalkeeper Subhasish Roychowdhury has lost his place to Subrata Paul.

Syed Rahim Nabi, Alwyn George and Jeje Lalpekhlua - who were also absent for India's friendly against Tajikistan on 14 August - are included for the South Asian tournament. Lalrindika Ralte, Shylo Malsawmtluanga and Clifford Miranda have been left out.

Goalkeepers: Subrata Paul, Karanjit Singh, Sandip Nandy.

Defenders: Nirmal Chettri, Arnab Mondal, Gouramangi Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Sandesh Jhingan, Mohanraj Nalappan.

Midfielders: Syed Rahim Nabi, Mehtab Hussain, Arata Izumi, Lenny Rodriguez, Alwyn George, Jewel Raja Shaikh, Francis Fernandes.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh, Dawson Fernandes, Jeje Lalpekhlua.

 Follow Anselm Noronha on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.