India’s AFC Cup slots to be nominated from the I-League this season

In a decision taken by the Indian FA, the cup champions will not be representing the nation at the AFC Cup this season but the following one…

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) have decided to change the format of the Federation Cup starting the 2013-14 season and as a consequence, the tournament winner is unlikely to be known by the end of the year as was the case before. Unlike the league and knockout format which was the norm till date, the competiton will now be seen in a new avatar with home and away leg format.

Given that the Indian FA have to send in the names of the teams who shall participate in the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Cup by December, the top two from the league are set to be nominated this time around unless the AFC decide to reduce the slotts allotted to India.

As revealed by Goal earlier, with Churchill Brothers not having submitted their licensing papers on time which resulted in their inspection not being completed, the report on the Goan club sent by the AIFF to the governing body for football in Asia wouldn’t make a strong case for the AFC to grant them a berth.

Realizing the same, Pune FC have already been informed by the AIFF of a chance of playing in the prestigious tournament so as to give them enough time to build their squad accordingly in the transfer window.

Should Churchill miss out on the AFC Cup berth, East Bengal who finished third in the league do stand a chance of making it into the competition once again.

The winner of this season’s Federation Cup shall however qualify for the following year’s AFC Cup.


Follow Rahul Bali on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.