FPAI Indian Football Awards: The Best of the Best in 2012-13

As the FPAI Indian Football Awards 2012-13 wrapped up, we bring to you the best of the best as decided by fellow professionals in Indian football...
The Football Players’ Association of India (FPAI) in association with Bombay Gymkhana hosted the Indian Football Awards 2013 in Mumbai on the 23rd of May to honour the best of the best in Indian football for the  2012-13 season

FPAI and Bombay Gymkhana are the title partners for this gala event, and Goal.com are the official website partners who had brought you this event LIVE. Here is a recap of everything that happened tonight.

Awards are based on votes collected from players participating in the I-League. This year's top 5 finishers in each category are below  with no specific order being followed. 

Among the running for Young Player of the Year which was last year won by Manandeep Singh, then of Air India but now of East Bengal, who surprisingly does not make even the list of nominees this time around are Md. Rafique of Prayag, Alwyn George and Holicharan Narzary of Pailan Arrows, Bikramjit Singh of Churchill Brothers and Lalrindika Ralte of East Bengal.

The award was finally picked up by impressive India U-22 Youngster who also had a successfull showing in the Senior Team and who was downright amazing for the Pailan Arrows, Alwyn George.

The Indian Player of the Year sees last time's winner Syed Rahim Nabi being nominated again. Joining him are India captain Sunil Chhetri of Chruchill, Mehtab Hossein of East Bengal, Lenny Rodrigues of Churchill and Clifford Miranda of Dempo. 

It is Lenny Rodrigues who bags the award as he has played a pivotal role in ensuring his team's title winning run this season.

Among the Foreign Player of the Year, last year's winner Ranti Martins makes a remarkable double as there is no stopping the Nigerian who has also made it a hattrick of being the leading scorer in the I-League even after switching over to Prayag United for this season.

The losing nominees were his teammate, Carlos Hernandez, Beto of Churchill, Douhou Pierre of Pune FC and fellow Nigerian Chidi Edeh of East Bengal who incidentally led East Bengal to a hattrick of Kolkata League wins today, scoring a brace in defeating arch rivals Mohun Bagan 3-2. 

It seems finishing second in the league is the key to winning the Best coach of the year, as after last year's triumph by Trevor Morgan after leading East Bengal to second, Derrick Pereira is the winner this year after doing the same with Pune FC. 

He sees off competition from Subhash Bhowmick of Churchill, Santosh Kashyap of ONGC, Arthur Paps of Pailan and last year's winner Morgan of East Bengal.

The Best Venue award is meanwhile picked up by the pictureseque Paljor Stadium in Gangtok, which is United Sikkim's home ground. Its a pity that we won't see their tremendous support anymore in the I-Legaue after they have been relegated.

And the category that YOU voted for is won by Zohib Islam Amiri of Mumbai FC.

Who would be your picks for the various categories? Let us KNOW by leaving a comment...

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.