FPAI Awards Ceremony to take place on 23rd May in Mumbai

The 5th annual Awards Ceremony of the Football Players' Association of India is all set to take place next week with a number of Bollywood celebrities expected to be present...
The Football Players’ Association of India (FPAI) in association with Bombay Gymkhana are set to host the Indian Football Awards 2013 in Mumbai on the 23rd of this month followed by a press conference by the winners. This year the awards will be even more exciting than previous year with personalities like Abhishek Bachchan, Dino Morea, John Abraham, Neha Dhupia, Rahul Bose, etc. to glamourize the event. Before the Awards, an exhibition match will be held on the same date 5 pm onwards. The match will feature players like Bhaichung Bhutia, Sunil Chettri, Renedy Singh, Gouramangi Singh, Clifford Miranda, Abhishek Yadav, Climax Laurence, Lenny Rodriguez and Samir Naik on one end pitted against some renowned Bollywood stars like Dino Morea, Rahul Bose, Marc Robinson, Bosco & Caesar, John Abraham and many more.

FPAI and Bombay Gymkhana are the title partners for this gala event, and Goal.com are the official website partners; 90 Minutes as the magazine partner; Audi as the mobility partner; Big FM the radio partner, Kolkata TV as media partner and Black Dog as the premium beverage partner.

Awards are based on votes collected from players participating in the I-League. This year's top 5 finishers in each category are below  with no specific order being followed. The winner will be announced on the awards night.

Young Player of Year:-

Md. Rafique (Prayag United SC.)
Alwyn George (Pailan Arrows)
Holicharan Narzary (Pailan Arrows)
Bikramjit Singh (Churchill Brothers)
Lalrindika Ralte (Kingfisher East Bengal)

Indian Player of the Year:-

Sunil Chettri (Churchill Brothers)
Rahim Nabi (McDowells Mohun Bagan)
Mehtab Hossain (Kingfisher East Bengal)
Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers)
Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC.)

Foreign Player of the Year:-

Carlos Hernandez (Prayag United SC)
Ranti Martins (Prayag United SC)
Beto (Churchill Brothers)
Pierre Douhou (Pune FC)
Chidi Edeh (Kingfisher East Bengal)

Coach/Manager of the Year:-

Derrick Pereira (Pune FC)
Subhash Bhowmick (Churchill Brothers)
Trevor Morgan (Kingfisher East Bengal)
Santosh Kashyup (ONGC)
Arthur Papas (Pailan Arrows)

Most Organized Club Venue:-

Given to the home team who has attained the reputation of best organisation of matches and has provided an optimum match-day experience. There are no nominees as such for this award; the winners will be announced on the awards night.

Fans Player of the year:- (voting is still open online through our site www.thefpai.net)

James Moga (Pune FC.)
Zohib Amiri (Mumbai FC.)
Carlos Hernandez (Prayag United)
Lenny Rodrigues (Churchill Brothers)
Lalkamal Bhowmick (Prayag United)
Lalrindika Ralte (East Bengal)
Arata Izumi (Pune FC.)

Also, special mementos will be handed out to select players and officials with special achievements during the year or their career.

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.