FPAI announces Fans Player of the Year shortlist

The Football Players’ Association of India (FPAI) has released the list of nominees for the Fans Player of the Year Award...
The fifth edition of the FPAI Indian Football awards is to be held in Mumbai on May 23, 2013, where the winner will be announced.

Francis Fernandes took away the Fans' Player of the Year award in 2012, having had a great season with Salgaocar last campaign. The list this year includes three foreigners and four Indians. Pune FC is the only team to have more than one player in the shortlist.

Like last year, the awards ceremony will be giving away prizes in six categories, namely – Indian Player of the Year, won by Syed Rahim Nabi last year, while Ranti Martins won the Foreigner of the Year gong, something he might well be in contention for, this year.

Trevor Morgan, who is leaving Indian shores at the end of this campaign, will be looking to defend his Coach of the Year title. The ‘Best Run Club’ title, won by Dempo SC last year, has been replaced by a ‘Best Organised Venue’ award this year.

The voting by the players has already started, while fans will also soon be able to vote for their favourite player of the season, on the FPAI website.

The Nominees are:

Carlos Hernandez, United SC
James Moga, Pune FC
Haroon Fakruddin Amiri, Mumbai FC
Lenny Rodrigues, Churchill Brothers
Lalrindika Ralte, East Bengal
Izumi Arata, Pune FC
Lalkamal Bhowmick, United SC

Follow Goal.com on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.