FPAI Indian Football Awards 2013 on 23rd May in Mumbai

The annual award ceremony shall take place in Mumbai this year, with some senior Indian Internationals expected to announce their retirements...

The now annual, end-of- season FPAI Indian Football Awards for 2013 shall take place on 23rd May in Mumbai.

The ceremony would be preceded by a football match at 4 P.M at the Bombay Gymkhana Club, involving celebrities, and some previous as well as current Indian Internationals. 

The event shall also be used by some senior players to announce their retirement from the International stage, allowing younger players the chance to represent the nation in coming tournaments. 

Like last year, the awards ceremony shall give away prizes in six categories, namely – Indian Player of the Year, which was won by Syed Rahim Nabi last year, while Ranti Martins won the Foreigner of the Year gong, something he might well be in contention for, this year.

East Bengal’s Manandeep Singh had won the Young Player of the Year award, having broken through at Air India last season, while Trevor Morgan, who is leaving Indian shores at the end of this campaign, will be looking to defend his Coach of the Year title.

The fans continue to have some say on the awards night, with the Fans Player of the Year being voted for, by the Indian football enthusiasts. The ‘Best Run Club’ title, won by Dempo SC last year, has been replaced by a ‘Best Organised Venue’ award this year.

The voting is well under-way for the above mentioned gongs, with 6 clubs including Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, United Sikkim, Shillong Lajong, Salgaocar SC, Prayag United, having already completed the process. The shortlists for all the awards shall be announced on 11th May 2013, with the eventually winners being revealed only on the night of the awards itself.

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.