thumbnail Hello,

The versatile player's consistent displays for the national team has been rewarded, as he was voted by the I-League coaches as India's best player in 2012...

Syed Rahim Nabi has been voted the AIFF (All India Football Federation) Player of the Year, 2012. The announcement was made by AIFF President Mr. Praful Patel during the Annual General Meeting conduced at Football House, the All India Football Federation Headquarters in New Delhi on Thursday.

Nabi was chosen the winner after voting by I-League Club Coaches. The voting procedure ended on December 14 at 6pm.

The Mariners player had a terrific year, as he further established himself as India’s premier left-back, powering up and down the wing with vigour. For his club too, the former East Bengal defender has figured prominently, quite often in midfield.

Congratulating the versatile footballer, Mr. Patel said: “Nabi has been a pillar of strength in the National Team for long. I wish him success in his future endeavours.”

AIFF General Secretary Mr. Kushal Das lauded Nabi on his achievements. “Nabi is a versatile player. His commitment as a player is exemplary. He is a deserving recipient of the Award.” 

Wim Koevermans too had words of praise for the Mohun Bagan player and wished him a speedy recovery from the injury he sustained during the Kolkata derby.

The Dutchman stated, “I congratulate Rahim Nabi on being chosen the winner by the various I-League club coaches. I wish him all the best for the future and wish him a speedy recovery.”

The Mariners player has so far been capped 61 times by India, scoring 6 goals in the process.

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.