thumbnail Hello,

The Dutchman included two boys from the India U-22 side in his final squad for the Nehru Cup…

Wim Koevermans, the Indian national team coach, has named his 20-member final list for the forthcoming Nehru Cup which kicks-off at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi from August 22.

Among those dropped is Jeje Lalpekhlua, who was once touted as the next big thing after his exploits in the Challenge Cup qualifiers in 2011. Khelemba Meetei, N Mohanraj, Joaquim Abranches, Gikbert Olivera, Rocus Lamare and Milan Singh were the others who failed to make the cut.

“I’m confident in the abilities of my boys,” Koevermans stressed. “The practice sessions have been good. It’s nice to see the boys pushing each other,” he added.

The final list of 20 also includes two India U-22 boys – Alwyn George and Manandeep Singh, who impressed at the AFC U-22 Championship in Muscat. “It’s a dream come true for me,” Alwyn maintained. “The Camp sessions have been an education for me and I’m maturing fast as a player,” he added.

“This is a new challenge for me. As a player, one needs to flexible to adjust yourself in different situations. I’m trying my best and learning at every step,” said Manandeep. 

The 20-member list stays as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Paul, Subhasish Roychowdhury, Karanjeet Singh.

DEFENDERS: Nirmal Chettri, Denzil Franco, Gouramangi Moirangthem, Gurwinder Singh, Raju Gaikwad, Syed Rahim Nabi.

MIDFIELDERS: Lenny Rodrigues, Mehtab Hussain, Jewel Raja, Francis Fernandes, Alwyn George, Anthony Pereira, Sanju Pradhan, Clifford Miranda.

FORWARDS: Robin Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Manandeep Singh.