thumbnail Hello,

Air India’s Manandeep Singh is the toast of the season as the youngster has been nominated for the annual awards in three categories…

With seven goals in his first season with Air India, Manandeep Singh has been nominated in the Football Players’ Association of India’s (FPAI) Indian Football Awards 2012 in three different categories, namely Fans’ Player of the Year, Indian Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year.

After having being rejected by Pailan Arrows after his first full season with them, Manandeep joined the Mumbai club and proved his former club as to why they were wrong not to have given him an extended run to highlight his talent.

Syed Rahim Nabi of Mohun Bagan and Salgaocar’s Francis Fernandes are the other two contenders to win the Indian Player of the Year award following their top displays for their respective clubs. Nabi played a key role in India’s SAFF Championship as he was the most impressive defender for the Men in Blue.

The top Indian goalscorer in the I-League, CS Sabeeth with nine goals for Pailan Arrows and Lalrindika Ralte who did fine with Churchill Brothers have been nominated alongside Manandeep for the Young Player of the Year award.

Ranti Martins of Dempo once again finished as the top scorer in the I-League with 32 goals followed by Mohun Bagan’s Odafa Okolie with 26. Douhou Pierre, who was recently awarded Pune FC’s Player of the Year award at PFC Awards Night, is also among those nominated for the Foreign Player of the Year award.

The nominations of Coach of the Year award are the coaches of Pune FC, East Bengal and Dempo SC in Derrick Pereira, Trevor Morgan and Armando Colaco respectively.

The contenders for the Fans’ Player of the Year award are East Bengal’s Sanju Pradhan and Tolgay Ozbey, Dempo’s Ranti Martins, Air India’s Manandeep Singh, Mohun Bagan’s Odafa Okolie and Salgaocar’s Francis Fernandes. To vote for the same, please log on to

Interestingly, FPAI shall announce the Best Managed Club at the awards which will be chosen by a planel of 15 Executive Committee Members.

Mahesh Gawli, Climax Lawrence and Samir Naik of Dempo SC will be handed a special momento for their unrivalled service to the nation after having announced their international retirement.

Indian Player of the Year Nominees
Syed Rahim Nabi (Mohun Bagan)
Manandeep Singh (Air India FC)
Francis Fernandis (Salgaocar SC)
Young Player of the Year
CS Sabeeth (Pailan Arrows)
Manandeep Singh (Air India)
Lanrindika Ralte (Churchill Brothers)
Foreign Player of the Year
Pierre Djidjia Douhou (Pune FC)
Ranty Martins Soleye (Dempo SC)
Odafa Okolie (Mohun Bagan)
Coach of the Year
Derrick Pereira (Pune FC)
Trevor Morgan (East Bengal)
Armando Colaco (Dempo SC)
Fans' Player of the Year
Ranti Martins (Dempo SC)
Tolgay Ozbey (East Bengal)
Sanju Pradhan (East Bengal)
Manandeep Singh (Air India)
Francis Fernandes (Salgaocar SC)
Odafa Okolie (Mohun Bagan)

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.