thumbnail Hello,

Stringent changes in the sports ministry guidelines have seen AIFF omit nominees for Arjuna award, whilst being hopeful of Colaco's selection by the committee...

In a matter of pride for Indian football, Armando Colaco will join Syed Nayeemuddin, a national team legend and ex-Mahindra United coach, as a Dronacharya awardee, if all goes according to plan.

The All India Football Federation (AIFF), it has been understood, has recommended the name of the veteran tactician as per the Times of India, who masterminded Dempo SC’s dominance in the erstwhile national league as well as the rechristened I-League, winning the championship five times with the Goan club.

Whilst the Sports Ministry of India has conditioned that for coaches - “contribution made by them over a period of 20 years or more in terms of producing outstanding sportspersons” is a mandatory factory in selection, the Indian football fraternity are hopeful of Armando, a former national coach and present East Bengal gaffer, picking up the award.

In a surprise move however, the AIFF haven’t put forth a nominee for the Arjuna award keeping on account of a change in guidelines from the ministry.

They have specified that 90 per cent weightage would be given to sportsmen who have won medals for India at international events such as the Olympics, the Asian Games and several world championships that are held once in four years.