Eleven coaches attain AFC 'A' license

The coaches who cleared the 'A' license certification are now cleared to manage I-League clubs, only a third of participants for 'B' license pass certification...

The dreams and aspirations for coaches such as Biswajit Bhattacharya and Mridul Banerjee to finally manage a team in the I-League drew closer as they were amongst the 11 candidates who cleared the Asian Football Confederation’s (AFC) ‘A’ License certification out of a total of 20 participants.

Tarun Dey, Prashanta Chakraborty, Shankarlal Chakraboty as well as Raman Vijayan were also among the successful candidates who cleared the course which was held between March 14 to April 9, 2014 at the Barasat, Kolkata.

Vincent Subramanium of Singapore and Lim Kim Chon from Malaysia were the conductors of the course. One must remember as per the latest All India Football Federation (AIFF) club licensing criteria dictum, all teams participating in the I-League must have an ‘A’ license coach amongst their ranks.

Whilst Bhattacharya had last been the technical director of the Bengal Santosh trophy team, Bannerjee has dabbled as assistant coach at both East Bengal and Mohun Bagan. Dey meanwhile, who is a former national defender, has been in charge of the East Bengal junior’s team.

The AFC ‘B’ License certifications were carried out alongside the ‘A’ license certificates, with a total of 8 participants passing the certification. It was held in Mumbai between March 29 and April 18, 2014.

Scott O’Donnell, the AIFF Technical Director Academies and Director of Coach Education, conducted the course constituting of 24 participants along with India’s national team assistant coach Savio Madeira.