Sunil Chhetri named Best Player

The India skipper won a couple of awards as the Indian FA unveiled the winners of the major awards…

Bengaluru FC once again hogged the limelight as they scooped three of the five individual awards as the All India Football Federation’s (AIFF) Executive Committee announced names of the exceptional performers.

The voting for the awards was done by the coaches and captains of each of the 13 I-League teams.

Sunil Chhetri, who finished as the joint top scorer with 14 goals was named as the best forward and also won the Best Player award.

His team-mate John Johnson was adjudged as the best defender for his no-nonsense defending and also scoring three important goals.

Salgaocar FC’s Karanjit Singh and Douhou Pierre won the best goalkeeper and midfielder awards respectively.