FPAI’s Indian Football Awards to be held in Kolkata

The annual awards function organized by the players association is set for month end date…

Football Players Association of India (FPAI) in association with McDowell's No.1 Soda present the sixth edition of Indian Football awards and will be held in the City of Joy for the third time.

“The Awards Night are being held in Kolkata, as we feel that Kolkata is the best venue having so many teams, in the I-League and also in the second division. Also the press here give the game the maximum coverage and have requested us to bring the Awards to Kolkata every 2-to-3 years, as it is still considered the Mecca of Indian Football,” informed Cyrus Confectioner, general secretary of FPAI.

Since its inception in 2009, the awards have become an important facet of Indian football where players, coaches and all those associated with the game congregate.

“FPAI Awards are important as the voting done by the players themselves. The players get the opportunity to choose the player they have played against in the league. Being done by an association that represents the players in itself is a plus point,” he added.

There are five major categories for awards this season, namely Best Young Player of the Season, Best Indian Player of the Season, Best Foreign Player of the Season, Best Coach of the Season and Fans Player of the Year award.

The nominees for the last category have been announced and the fans can vote from April 8 onwards until the 27th of this month by logging on to www.thefpai.net.

Nominees: Beikhokhei Beingaichho (Bengaluru FC), Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar FC.), Arnab Mondal (East Bengal),  Balwant Singh (Churchill Brothers), Yusa Katsumi (Mohun Bagan), Boithang Haokip (Shillong Lajong ), Victorino Fernandes (Sporting Clube de Goa), Douhou Pierre (Pune FC).